Review: Tell Me Three Things

TMTT.png

V23 new typeface tagline.inddTell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

My Rating: ★★★★★ (5/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel filled with characters who will come to feel like friends.

my-review

I knew that this book would be good, it has pretty good reviews so I knew that it would be great. BUT WAFFLES, WAFFLES IT WAS BEYOND GOOD. Tell Me Three Things is just one of those books that I love.

LET ME TELL YOU THREE THINGS

1. Things that I liked:

  • The plot focused on a lot of points in Jessie’s life. Her adjustment in her new school/life. Her deceased mother. Her relationship with her father, steppeople, her bestfriend. I love how real she felt as a struggling teenage character.
  • THE COVER. IT IS SO CUTE AND RELEVANT ONCE YOU READ THE BOOK. DAMN WAFFLES!
  • The writing style. It was light and readable but at the same time it was beautifully written and Jessie’s thoughts was very relatable. And every conversation with SN made me want to read more to find out his identity.
  • The emails and IMs, it was really refreshing to read a book which I felt was so real because that basically what I’m doing with me life right now. I love how she just chats with her friends, send selfies, and have group messages with them. I totally get her when she says that it is way easier to talk to someone through written messages than in real life. BECAUSE I AM PRETTY DAMN AWKWARD IN IRL.
  • Somebody/Nobody. SN. HE IS SO ADORABLE, DORKY, WEIRD, SWEET, AND CUTESY! And glob, I wanted to know who is and I wanted to spoil myself. I literally read reviews to find spoilers but they were all spoiler-free, but I was desperate so I almost read the last chapter but thank heavens I stopped myself, BECAUSE IT WOULD RUIN IT.
  • The mystery of SN’s identity made read in between the lines for clues and hints. AND I’M HAPPY TO SAY THAT I WAS RIGHT. AND I WASN’T DISAPPOINTED.
  • The “tell me three things” with SN. HOW COULD YOU GET ANY CUTER THAN THAT?!

2. Things that I didn’t liked:

  • When I finally knew who SN was it was already the last chapter. LIKE IT ENDED THERE. GOODBYE. MOVE ALONG NOTHING TO SEE HERE. I was giddy and so happy, I was on high and then it ended. THE BOOK ENDED. I know, I know it’s a contemporary book and most of them end that way but WHY? WHY MUST I SUFFER FROM THIS? What I’m saying is that an additional two or three chapters wouldn’t hurt right? Just dash more cutesy scenes with SN and Jessie being together.
  • THERE WAS A BAND. WHERE ARE THE BAND SCENES? WHY DIDN’T YOU PUT PINCH MORE CONCERTS OR PERFORMANCES? WHY?

3. Things that I love:

  • Ethan is Ethan is Ethan. ETHAN MARKS. NEW BOOK BOYFRIEND ALERT.

What can I say, I KNEW THAT I WOULD LOVE HIM THE FIRST TIME HE WAS MENTIONED. I was like, yes, that is THE ONE. No arguments. Nope. Just no. My glob, I am sucker for mysterious, quiet boys who are slightly damaged but are smart and dorky and weird AND NICE. Even though he has green eyes, not blue, I STILL LOVE HIM. I WAS ROOTING FOR HIM ALL THE WAY. MY GLOB HOW DO YOU EVEN?!

This is one of those books that I finished reading at past midnight and I dream about it and when I woke up I re-read the last chapter. IT WAS SO GOOD. Definitely, was of my favorites.

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Tell Me Three Things

  1. Pingback: New York By The Book Tag | geniereads

  2. Pingback: May Wrap-up [2016] | geniereads

  3. Pingback: I Know What You Read Last Summer | geniereads

  4. Pingback: Year Ender Post: Top Books for 2016 & Goals for 2017 | geniereads

Leave a Reply

