Review: The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #2)

MD2.png

13643567The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #2) by Michelle Hodkin

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The truth about Mara Dyer’s dangerous and mysterious abilities continues to unravel in the New York Times bestselling sequel to the thrilling The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. Mara Dyer once believed she could run from her past.She can’t. She used to think her problems were all in her head. They aren’t. She couldn’t imagine that after everything she’s been through, the boy she loves would still be keeping secrets. She’s wrong. In this gripping sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, the truth evolves and choices prove deadly. What will become of Mara Dyer next?

my-review

After finishing the first book, I had questions— question that I thought this book will probably answer. But as I was reading the second book (this book) my questions just piled up and now that I finished it, I AM FRUSTRATED AND CONFUSED AND I HAVE EVEN MORE QUESTIONS THAN WHEN I STARTED.

Here are some questions I keep on asking while reading:

IS JUDE REALLY ALIVE AND STALKING MARA OR IS MARA REALLY JUST INSANE?

Who is the person behind the “Before” parts? 

WHAT IS THE REAL DEAL WITH NOAH AND MARA? WHAT ARE THEY? ARE THEY POSSESSED? OR ALIENS OR VAMPIRES OR IS IT THEIR GENES OR IDK WHAT ELSE? BUT WHAT ARE THEY???

WHY IS PHOEBE SO CREEPY? 

WHY IS NOAH SHAW SO IMPOSSIBLY PERFECT?

WHAT IS BEHIND THE NAME MARA DYER?

And those are just some of my questions.

Everything that I felt the Unbecoming lacked was fulfilled in the Evolution. It was way more intense, mysterious, and creepy to the point that I had to close the book because I was alone in my room at night and and it was making me paranoid and I felt like I was being watched oh god. I’m sorry but I’m easily scared and I was so invested in this story that I had to keep telling myself that it isn’t real, it isn’t real, it isn’t real, it isn’t real.

I wasn’t sure how I would manage staying sane while I was constantly being told that I was crazy.

After the last incident at the police station, Mara’s family feels like she is in need of serious help. You would feel the love and care of her family for her, they want her to be better. I seriously loved her big brother, Daniel because he’s like the big-brother-that-I-always-wanted. BUT IS MARA REALLY CRAZY? She tells us that she is not, and Noah believes her (he is the only one who does). BUT SHOULD I TRUST HIM FOR TRUSTING MARA? IS MARA REALLY NOT CRAZY?

Mara is an unreliable narrator, she tells us that Jude was there watching her, that he did this and that but then, she seems to blank out a lot and she begins to walk in her sleep. I was as clueless and disoriented as she was most of the time.

“You’re stronger than you believe. Don’t let your fear own you. Own yourself.”

One of the things that I liked is Mara and Noah’s relationship, and the way they handled things when nothing in their life was making sense. Most of the time I forgot that they were only teenagers like me because if I was on their situation I might have gone really insane.

I was very close to giving this book five full stars but I don’t know what stopped me, maybe because I didn’t like the brain-crashing revelations at the end. It gave a lot of new information to process and left me very frustrated and disoriented when I finished the book.

A fist closed around my heart. I tried to let him go once before. It didn’t work.

“I can’t,” was all I said to her, and quietly.

“Then you will love him to ruins,” she said, and let my hands go.

SPOILERS DOWN BELOW (DO NOT READ THIS PART IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK AND YOU DON’T WANT TO BE SPOILED)

AFTER I FINISHED I WAS LIKE,

NOPE, NOPE, HE’S ALIVE I CAN FEEL HIM. HIS PULSE. HIS BREATHS. HIS HEARTBEAT. HIS SYMPHONY. HE. IS .ALIVE.

BECAUSE I WILL NOT ACCEPT IT IF NOAH SHAW IS DEAD (and the cover of The Retribution gives me hope)

I have no idea what to expect in the next book, I am more confused than ever and I can’t feel my brain functioning. I AM HOPING TO FIND ALL THE ANSWERS IN THE NEXT BOOK, I CAN’T WAIT.


That’s all, thank you so much for reading. If you want to read more book reviews from this blog, just click here. And you could also find my reviews in Goodreads.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #2)

  1. Pingback: May Wrap-up [2016] | geniereads

  2. Pingback: I Know What You Read Last Summer | geniereads

Leave a Reply

