Review: Me Before You

MBY.png

15507958Me Before You (Me Before You, #1) by Jojo Moyes

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

my-review

IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THIS BOOK, HERE ARE SOME TIPS FOR YOU SO THAT YOU WOULDN’T BE SPOILED AND FOR YOU TO HAVE THE BEST READING EXPERIENCE. (TRUST ME ON THIS, I LEARNED IT FROM THE HARD WAY)

  • There will be a movie adaption of Me Before You. And it already has its official trailer, DO NOT WATCH THE TRAILER. I know it is very tempting but if you don’t want to be spoiled on some details it’s best not to watch it before finishing the book.
  • There is a second book. After You, it follows the story of MBY after the ending. That is all you need to know! DO NOT READ THE SYNOPSIS OF AFTER YOU, IF YOU DON’T WANT TO SPOIL YOURSELF.
  • DO NOT READ SPOILERS! HAHAHA.

Okay now that’s already settled. I’ll start my review with the Non-spoiler section first.

NON-SPOILER SECTION

I don’t usually read Adult Fiction books, and I’ll be honest I only decided to read this because of the fact that it will have a movie adaption plus my classmates said that I should give it a try. And I’m glad that I did.

This book will take you into a journey in the lives of Lou Clark and Will Traynor. I thought that I wouldn’t like following a 26 year old woman’s point of view but surprisingly I found Lou Clark very relatable. She made me think about my life in the next couple of years, what would I be doing when I’m at her age? Would I still be living the same way? She lives in a small town her whole life with her parents and she enjoys it because she is afraid of stepping out of her comfort zone. Until she meets Will Traynor, who will push her to live her life a bit more. The next six months of their life will truly be life changing for the both of them.

This book made me think about my life a little more. Am I really living it to the fullest? Some concepts tackled here also made me think about the impact and changes brought in our life by some events. There are some things that happen to us that we can get used to, that we may tolerate in our everyday life but we can never accept it. There are some things that we cannot accept and it may hinder us into embracing the life that we currently have.

Me Before You is truly an emotional read, but it is also filled with humor and countless beautiful scenes that will make you smile. This book took me in a roller coster ride— I laughed, smiled, squealed with delight, cried, cried a bit more, worried, and hoped and crossed my fingers and toes for the best for the characters.

“Push yourself. Don’t Settle. Just live well. Just LIVE.”

SPOILER SECTION

WHO AM I KIDDING??? THIS BOOK IS HEARTBREAKING! IT WILL RIP YOUR HEART AND TEAR IT INTO TINY PIECES UNTIL YOU CAN’T FEEL ANYTHING BUT SADNESS.

I CRIED A LOT. IT WASN’T LIKE SHEDDING-A-FEW-TEARS-KIND-OF-CRY IT WAS UGLY-CRYING-UNTIL-YOU-CAN’T-BREATHE-THROUGH-YOUR-NOSE-AND-YOU-START-GASPING-FOR-AIR-KIND-OF-CRY.

PLEASE NOTE THAT I WAS ALREADY SPOILED WITH THE ENDING AND I SAW IT COMING BUT IT WAS SO SAD.

I kind of understand and respect Will’s decision but it’s hard and heart-breaking. I was hopeful that he would give a little bit more time to re-consider his decision and just TRY, TRY to live with Clark and see how it will turn out. But he didn’t. This is the thing that stopped me from giving this book 5-stars. 

His letter was so beautiful and I felt his love for Lou Clark, he truly wants her to live her life and experience everything. And this is what will happen in the next book, but I’m sorry but I refuse to read After You because Will wouldn’t be in it. I know, that is so unfair and irrational but I can’t imaging continuing without him it hurts so bad.

AND I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE MOVIE! SAM CLAFLIN AS WILL TRAYNOR???!!! I REALLY WANT TO WATCH IT ASAP.

“You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”


That’s all, thank you so much for reading. If you want to read more book reviews from this blog, just click here. And you could also find my reviews in Goodreads.

19 thoughts on “Review: Me Before You

  1. I am always saying I’m going to read this soon but I still haven’t picked it up yet. I guess I’m kinda still afraid but now it’s time. I have to read it. Loved your review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! ME BEFORE YOU IS SO SAD. So sad. I’ve been wanting to reread it before watching the movie (because I am definitely watching it) but just haven’t had the time. I agree that this book is sooo heartbreaking and was just very…. sticky? Like I read it when it first came out but I still remember the main plot and some of the little details, which doesn’t usually happen with me because I have a ridiculously short-term memory with these things. 😛

    Anyway I completely understand why you gave it four stars, but I felt like that was realistic in its own way… like I could understand why Will made the choice that he did, and love honestly doesn’t conquer everything, in my opinion.

    PS: ALSO SO STOKED you’re reading The Unexpected Everything! I am as well. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! It is really a heartbreaking book, I read it a few weeks ago but I can still feel my heart ache just by thinking of it. (I am a very emotional person, sorry haha) I agree that it is really realistic, it must be truly hard for Will to accept a life that he felt wasn’t meant for him. But I was so hopeful, I just got disappointed that he didn’t gave it a chance.

      YESSS!! I’m slowly making my way in reading The Unexpected Everything. Yey for us, I hope that we both find it enjoyable ❤

      Like

      • Gooood but THIS BOOK THOUGH. Romance notwithstanding I actually feel like Louisa is just very relatable – I can 100% get behind her not knowing what to do with her life, etc. That part was also just gold for me.

        How are you liking The Unexpected Everything? I’ve spent all night reading it and I’m aaaalmost done.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Hi from Louise + April Wrap-up [2016] | geniereads

  4. Me too, I was like “this could be me in a couple of years from now” because I find getting out of my comfort zone really hard.

    I’m only half-way through it, but I find it great— funny (especially with Toby’s emojis) and emotional. Hopefully, I can finish it tonight. How about you? Oh good, can’t wait to hear your thoughts about it. 😊

    Like

  5. This book is one of those that made me cry my heart out. Seriously! And I also didn’t want to read After You but I was intrigued on how the author would heal Lou’s broken heart. Anyway, the MOVIE is coming out next month and I’M EXCITED TO SEE IT!!! (and I know I’m not the only one who is!) I also love Sam Claflin! :”)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes </3 Now you also got me wondering about that, but I don't think I can continue reading about Lou without Will. OMG I ALSO CAN'T WAIT! Sam Claflin is just *sighs*, have seen Love Rosie? It's also a great movie!

      Like

  6. Pingback: May Wrap-up [2016] | geniereads

  7. Pingback: I Know What You Read Last Summer | geniereads

  8. Pingback: Year Ender Post: Top Books for 2016 & Goals for 2017 | geniereads

Leave a Reply

