Hi from Louise + April Wrap-up [2016]

Picture1.png

Hi beautiful bloggers! *awkwardly waves*

It has been less than a week since I started this blog and I just want to say that I am beyond overwhelmed right now. I have only been here for a very short period of time but the people here are so welcoming and pleasant and approachable and basically everything nice! Thank you very much to everyone for welcoming me in this wonderful world of book blogging ❤

Picture4I WAS SO SPEECHLESS WHEN I SAW THIS ON MY NOTIFICATIONS!!! IT’S UNBELIEVABLE!

Shhh, I know.. I know I’m being over-dramatic but I am just thankful for this because I made this blog knowing and expecting nothing from it. BUT YOU BLOGGERS ARE THE BEST! *virtually hugs you all*

Okay enough of that, because I also want to tell you about my upcoming posts for my blog. Of course I will be posting book reviews as frequent as I can but aside from that I’m thinking about doing a feature that will help you to get to know me more personally *waggles eyebrows* and I’ll be posting my very first tag! So please do watch out for that and more! ❤

So I know I said in my very first post that I will be posting reviews of the books that I read last month. I have only posted 2 reviews out of 10, but I don’t think I can continue it anymore because I’m having a hard time putting myself into the feels of that book because a few weeks have already passed by.

SO INSTEAD I’LL BE DOING MY VERY FIRST MONTHLY WRAP-UP! YEYYYY!

Picture3

HERE ARE THE BOOKS THAT I READ LAST APRIL

1. This Is Where the World Ends by Amy Zhang

See the synopsis in Goodreads (link here)
My Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)
My thoughts:
This book is a great quick read, though I didn’t enjoyed it very much, plot and character-wise. I did loved the journal entries and the fairytales! And the writing style is goooood.

2. Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

See the synopsis in Goodreads (link here)
My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
My thoughts: 
A perfect summer read! It reminded me of Hannah Montana and Fearless Era Taylor Swift, don’t ask why haha.

3. Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers

See the synopsis in Goodreads (link here)
My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
My thoughts: 
Mean Girls in a higher level! I enjoyed reading this book despite its heavy content and unlikable characters. SEE MY FULL REVIEW HERE.

4. Cracked Up To Be by Courtney Summers

See the synopsis in Goodreads (link here)
My Rating: ★★★★★ (5/5)
My thoughts: 
This is so far my most favorite Courtney Summers’ book! This book is raw, emotional and filled with mystery. I loved every bit of it. Parker is so unlikable but I like her and her sarcasm so much. Definitely a must read.

5. The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

See the synopsis in Goodreads (link here)
My Rating: ★★★★★ (5/5)
My thoughts: 
THIS BOOK. I JUST CAN’T. DEFINITELY ONE OF MY FAVORITES EVER. This book is beautifully written. It has beautiful characters. It is emotional but also funny and the romance *dreamy eyes* I THINK EVERYONE MUST READ IT. (WARNING YOU MIGHT DIE BECAUSE OF THE JOELIRIOUSNESS)

6. When We Collided by Emery Lord

See the synopsis in Goodreads (link here)
My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
My thoughts:
Another wonderful summer read by Emery Lord. This book follows the story of Vivi and Jonah, it covered a lot of concepts and struggles. I liked how vivid and alive the characters were (especially Vivi). The conclusion brought (happy) tears in my eyes.

7. Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

See the synopsis in Goodreads (link here)
My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
My thoughts: 
I learned a lot after reading this. And it awakened my feminist soul. It’s very well and beautifully written. I will absolutely read more of Holly Bourne’s books.

8. How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne

See the synopsis in Goodreads (link here)
My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
My thoughts:
I think I loved this more than Am I Normal Yet? because I found Amber very relatable. AGAIN PERFECT SUMMER READ. I can’t wait for Evie’s story!

9. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

See the synopsis in Goodreads (link here)
My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
My thoughts:
THIS BOOK. THIS BEAUTIFUL AND EMOTIONAL BOOK. It played with my feelings and I’m glad it did. SEE MY FULL REVIEW HERE.

10. Backlash by Sarah Darer Littman

See the synopsis in Goodreads (link here)
My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
My thoughts: 
The way that this book was written was incredible, it’s like made for every teenager out there. It is super relatable, emotional, and definitely a page-turner. It also shows as how powerful social media is, and we must be careful and responsible in using them.

So there you have it, the books I read last April. I’m super happy that I caught up on my reading this summer. And as you may noticed all the book mentioned are contemporary books! I AIN’T SORRY, I LOVE CONTEMPORARY BOOKS SO MUCH

THANK YOU AGAIN GUYS FOR WELCOMING ME IN THIS COMMUNITY! ❤ May all your beautiful souls be blessed! So that’s all for today, thank you for reading and stopping by! STAY TUNED FOR MORE UPCOMING POSTS!


What are your thoughts on the books that I read last month? Have you read any of them? If so, let’s gush about them! If not, which books do you want to read from the list?

Please do leave any comments, messages, reactions, and/or suggestions! Thank you for reading. Until next time,

❤ Louise

23 thoughts on “Hi from Louise + April Wrap-up [2016]

  1. Wow, congrats on the followers in such a short amount of time! That’s awesome 😊 Welcome to the community, btw. I’m new-ish myself and everyone really is so wonderful!

    Great reading month too!! It seems like you enjoyed everything you read too, which is great 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Wow, how long have you been doin this? (If you don’t mind me asking) Yes, I’m very surprised on how easy it is to interact with other bloggers. Haha, it was great month indeed. Thanks again 💙

      Like

      • Wow again, I thought you’ve been doing this in maybe a year or more. Me too, especially in real life (I’m super awkward 😪) but here it just feels easy and natural to talk with others. I feel so safe here haha 😄

        Like

      • Ah, that is such a lovely compliment thank you ❤️ To be honest though the majority of it is me pretending I know what I’m doing 😂 Your blog is so great too! I’d definitely thought you’d been doing this for a while! And yes, same! I definitely feel a lot more at ease on here than other social media sites.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved Open Road Summer! It’s definitely a perfect summer read 🙂 I love contemporary books, they’re so much easier to pick up compared to a fantasy series and can be light and fluffy or full or important issues 🙂
    Congrats on your follows! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome to the blogosphere! & congrats on 50 follows so quickly! 😀

    A question RE the Holly Bourne books: Have you read her book Soulmates? & if you have, are these two anything like it? I read it a while back & really, really disliked it, so I’ve been nervous about picking up her other books, even though they sound interesting…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: May Wrap-up [2016] | geniereads

Leave a Reply

