Genie Shares: The Muggle Who Lived

asdfghj

Genie Shares is a Saturday feature in geniereads, where in Louise (weekly) shares a personal book-related story.

Hello there Muggles!

love movie funny cute smile

Oh no, sorry let me start again. HELLO THERE WIZARDS AND WITCHES! 

Here I am again with my second Genie Shares post. If you missed my debut post last week, just click here to see it.

Today’s story is all about The Muggle Who Lived, which is about me because I am the Muggle. The Muggle and I are one. Here’s the thing, the complete title of the story is actually: The Muggle Who Lived… For A Long And Pitiful Time Without Harry Potter In Her Life. Yup, I’ve just recently discovered the wonderful world of magic.

NO DON’T LOOK AT ME LIKE THAT! WE DIDN’T ALL HAD MAGICAL CHILDHOODS! I had my reasons, they might not be good reasons but they’re still reasons! Okay so before you all cast some spells on me, I’ll now start my story.

Once upon a time,

there lived a girl who finally decided to read the Harry Potter Series. But the question is when, when did she decided to do so? It was a beautiful Saturday, the sun was shining brightly. The calendar read…March 12, 2016.

harry potter omg emma watson hermione granger wide eyes

(Laughs awkwardly) Uhm yes, you didn’t thought that it was that recent huh?

As I’ve shared before, I didn’t grew up with reading. Though my sister is a huge Potterhead, magic and witches and wizards just did not interest me as a child. And when I was already an avid reader, I avoided Harry Potter because I felt like I still wouldn’t like it and I thought it would take forever to read all seven books.

I remember exactly when it all have suddenly shifted, it was New Year’s Eve! I was like super enthusiastic about new beginnings and other crap, tweeting madly and deciding that I’ll read 60 books this year. And then, an idea came… I’ll read Harry Potter this year! I just felt that I was finally ready for it. I finally decided to start reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone on March 12, the day after prom, because I was physically, mentally and emotionally exhausted and prom wasn’t fun at all so I needed to get lost in a book. I finished Sorcerer’s Stone that weekend and honestly, I was hooked from the first chapter until the last.

giphy

IT WAS MAGICAL AND AMAZING AND JUST BLOODY BRILLIANT! I never thought that I would liked it, but bloody hell I enjoyed and loved every bit of it. Diagon Alley, Hogwarts, The Houses, Wands, Spells, Classes, ALL OF THE CHARACTERS, THE MAGIC— it was a whole new world that I’ve found. It is truly amazing, I thought that it would be childish because it’s a children’s book but no, IT WAS THE MOST AMAZING THING I’VE READ.

I quickly started with Chamber of Secrets after that, luckily we were at that point of the school year where we were just required to go to school even though there were no more classes because all the teachers were busy finishing the grades, so I got to read Harry Potter at school the whole week freely. And my classmates were all surprised and pleased that I’ve finally decided to read it, and everyone was uncharacteristically nice because no one spoiled me! They all wanted me to enjoy it and have the best experience, and it was nice to have people who I can share my reactions and update them on where I was.

As I mentioned I wasn’t spoiled by my classmates, and I basically avoided Harry Potter in my former life so I had very little knowledge about it. I’ve only watched the first movie when I was eight years old and I barely remembered it and the only important thing that I know is that Snape is a good guy because he was all over my social media feeds when the sad news of Alan Rickman’s death trended. So I was hating Snape because in the first book he was suspiciously annoying but in the back of my mind I know in the end that he was a good guy.

So now I’m going to share some of my feelings and reactions per book. This Part may contain spoilers, so if you haven’t read Harry Potter yet and you are planning to skip this part to save yourself.

THIS WILL CONTAIN MOST OF THE MAJOR SPOILERS! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. READ AT YOUR OWN RISK! 

———–START OF SPOILERS———–

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

As I’ve said, this got me hooked— J.K. Rowling’s writing is just amazing, she constructed a whole new world in this book. Every thing was on point, I felt like I was in there with Harry, Ron and Hermione! I’m not a sporty person, but bloody hell I loved Quidditch so much! Those scenes were the best because it made me nervous, anxious, thrilled and excited, it had me cheering for Gryffindor every time. MY EYES WERE FILLED WITH MAGIC AFTER READING THIS.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Now this had me sitting on the edge of my sit, first of all Gilderoy Lockhart is the second worst Defense of the Dark Arts teacher ever, I hated that guy! Then I thought Ginny was a very annoying and stupid girl in this book. Then Tom Riddle, that shocked me! I honestly, did not saw that I AM TOM RIDDLE thing coming. But this book started with Dobby, I love him so much! And yes when the twins and Ron saved Harry from the Dursley with the flying car, and he spent his first summer at the burrow.

funny harry potter ron weasley fandom chamber of secrets

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

This was the first Harry Potter book to make me cry. I was afraid of Sirius Black at the start but after the big revelation, which was one of the best plot twists ever, he became one of my most favorite characters. And Lupin, the best Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher ever! And then, Hagrid also started teaching in this book and the hippogriffs and Hemione’s secret and OH GOD THOSE DEMENTORS and the Marauder’s Map and Crookshanks and Scabbers and that ending which made me sob like a baby! I really loved this book so much!

harry potter george weasley fred weasley prisoner of azkaban

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Now this book had EVERYTHING. It started with Quidditch, which had me so excited but when Dumbledore announced that there will be NO QUIDDITCH that year, I was so devastated because I loved reading quidditch scenes. But it was alright because the Triwizard Tournament Games was awesome! When  Harry and Ron got into a fight because Ron doesn’t believe Harry, it was so sad— and I cried when they finally made up, I realized then how much I’m already attached with the characters. This book was really action-packed, I didn’t expected every twist and turn especially the one with Moody! AND WHEN HARRY AND CEDRIC TOUCHED THE CUP WHICH WAS A PORTKEY, GOOD HEAVENS I TOTALLY LOST IT AFTER THAT.

harry potter laughing pain daniel radcliffe voldemort

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

This is where shit got real. But first to be honest, I was intimidated on how thick this book was, this is the book that I read the longest. Okay now, Luna Lovegood—my favorite character—was introduced in this book, when Harry first saw her at the train I was so drawn to her that I really wanted her and Harry to end up together. And the thing with Cho Chang—I really didn’t like her—that happened this book triggered something in me. I WAS SO CURIOUS, ON WHO WILL END UP WITH HARRY. I tried to ask my friends but they didn’t want to tell me, and one day my curiosity got the best of me and I SPOILED MYSELF by googling it. And not only did I now know that Harry will end up with Ginny but I also know the names of their three children. Thanks a lot Google, I hate myself. 

harry potter hermione granger maker deathly hallows bellatrix lestrange

Anyways, this is also where Umbridge aka The Most Evil Thing In Pink Ever made her first appearance. I hated her so much, and when she was giving Harry detention in her own way I felt so angry that she was hurting him! Dumbledore’s Army was definitely a highlight, they were so bloody brilliant. I finished this book at 4 in the morning and I was ugly crying because SIRIUS BLACK DIED AND IT HURT SO MUCH.

harry potter gary oldman marauders sirius black remus lupin

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

aka where hormones are discovered. I loved how you can see how much they’ve grown. And this had me guessing who was the Half-Blood prince, at some point I thought it was Voldemort. Another thing that I liked in this book was all those stories about Tom Riddle, how the pieces made the whole picture. BUT THEN, DUMBLEDORE DIES.

harry potter jk rowling

I never imagined him dying. I FELT MY HEART BROKE, I WAS SO ANGRY WITH SNAPE I COULDN’T EVEN THINK HOW CAN PEOPLE LOVE HIM IN THAT MOMENT.

harry potter alan rickman snape severus snape severus

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

BEST BOOK EVER. I remember almost crying when I thought Hagrid died at the beginning when he and Harry were trying to get to the Burrows safely. A LOT OF TEARS WERE SHED IN THIS BOOK. I thought there was nothing worse than Dumbledore’s death, but then DOBBY DIED. MY HEART BROKE INTO EVEN TINIER PIECES. It hurt so bad, I love Dobby so much. So much happened in this book I can’t talk about everything so fast-forward to the Battle of Hogwarts. IT WAS AMAZING, INTENSE AND HEARTBREAKING. My heart broke a little more with every fallen wizard. And then, I finally understood the thing with Snape,

alan rickman always severus snape see you professor

it was just too much.

———END OF SPOILERS———–

I remember it was Easter Sunday when I finished reading, I was actually with my family having dinner at some restaurant when I reached the epilogue. I tried to not read it there while we were waiting for our food, but I just couldn’t stop. And when I finished the epilogue, it took every bit of strength to stop myself from crying in public. MY TEARS WERE ON THE VERGE OF FALLING, IT WAS SO HARD. I tried to not think about it until we got home. At home I re-read the epilogue, and then sobbed my heart out. I cried and cried and cried because it’s done and there’s no more books left and a lot of them died but Harry, Ron and Hermione are all happy now. I cried because I had nothing more to read and my life was now ruined. 

harry potter harry deathly hallows

I’m kidding my life isn’t completely ruined, I still had the movies to watch!

But the movies, even though they did a great job bringing the books to life, was underwhelming for me. I feel sorry for all those people who just watched the movies. THE MOVIES DID NOT GAVE DOBBY’S ROLE JUSTICE! It was sad, though I still enjoyed reliving the books through the movies. I also had fun complaining every time a certain scene wasn’t included.

After the movies, I spent my days on Pottermore! I took the test, and got sorted to…RAVENCLAW! Which I’m very pleased and happy about because Luna is from Ravenclaw and I’ve always felt liked I belonged there.

harry potter luna lovegood expecto patronum

And then, I searched the internet with every thing Harry Potter. I watched every Harry Potter video in Youtube, read every trivia, took every quiz and cursed myself every time I answered incorrectly. I didn’t want to talk about anything else besides Harry Potter, it was maddening! I also went to a phase where I tried to Accio everything, and randomly tried to Stupefy people. I couldn’t read any books after that because I thought it wouldn’t be as great as HP. I’ve only decided to read again in the first week of April.

I couldn’t imagine how I survived my former life without Harry Potter because it is literally everywhere! If you look closely, there will always be a Harry Potter related post in you social media accounts, and all those HP references in all of those books.

I love Harry Potter, and I regret not reading it earlier in my life. I’m so thankful for it. I could talk about it all day, I wish we could all talk about it while having Butterbeer. 

I might have only recently discovered this magical world but it has secured a place in my heart and I’ll love it for the rest of my muggle life! So how about you, who did you became a Potterhead?

FUN FACTS!

  • My wand is Alder wood with a Unicorn hair core 10 ¾” and Slightly Springy flexibility.
  • I hated the way Parseltongue was portrayed in the movies, every time there was a scene with it I couldn’t stop myself from laughing! I couldn’t take it seriously.
  • I love Harry Potter. I love Spoken Word Poetry. HARRY POTTER + SPOKEN WORD POETRY = THE GREATEST THING EVER. Here’s a link of a performance by one of my most favorite local spoken word artists: This-Feeling-That-Should-Not-Be-Named by M Manese

This was a pretty long post, congratulations if you made it this far! Well that concludes, the story of The Muggle Who Lived. Next week’s story would be about the time when my heart flipped because of a book!


Now it’s time for your story! Tell me about it in the comments. LET’S TALK ABOUT MORE HARRY POTTER IN THE COMMENTS. Thank you so much for reading this, I had a bloody good time writing it.

Please do leave any comments, thoughts, messages, reactions, and/or suggestions! Thank you for reading. Until next time,

❤ Louise

38 thoughts on “Genie Shares: The Muggle Who Lived

  1. OMG, this post is everything!! I was in Middle School when I became a Potterhead. The first book came out when I was in fourth grade, but I didn’t read them until middle school. I pulled an all-nighter when the seventh book came in the mail (I got it on release day). I had my brother open it, because for some reason, I just couldn’t. I’m in Gryffindor, my wand is Redwood wood with a Unicorn hair core 11″ and Slightly Yielding flexibility.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are not the first! I’m currently reading it! Though I started it previous year but had to stop due to exams and stuff! But I finally picked it up again! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG haha, I also remember exactly how and why and where I was when I first read Harry Potter 🙂 Love your enthusiasm!!!
    My setting – I was visiting a friend at another college some years back, and while she was off in class, I borrowed her HP box set. I wasn’t planning on necessarily reading HP, but they were the only fiction my friend had 🙂 I headed to their college library, and the best part were these egg-shaped chairs (“womb” chairs), with padding inside and little lights – and you could even pull curtains to lock yourself completely in, like a cozy little cave. SO perfect for reading HP back to back 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Haha, thank you I just can’t help feeling so excited when talking about Harry Potter! Yay, thank heavens for that friend of yours. Oh wow, that sounds like the perfect reading spot, I wish the library here has that kind of cozy feature. 💙

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this post.💜

    I finished reading it without even noticing how long it is.. I can relate soooo much on your post. It made me feel happy and even giddy to know that another person loves the books that I loooove sooooo much…😁

    “After all this time?”

    ALWAYS.😘

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!

      Oh gosh, I can relate. When I started The Goblet of Fire which was the thicker compared with the previous books, I was very intimidated by it but when I finished it and continued with the next books which were much longer, I didn’t even noticed the length and read it for like two school days only because it was so good! (Except The Order of Phoenix which took me like 4 days I think lol)

      Yes, I really love that Harry Potter has a very large fandom and that there are a lot of people who, like us, loves the books so much!

      ALWAYS. THAT LINE, THAT BEAUTIFUL LINE! I just can’t….*cries*

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Better late than never!

    And don’t worry, I’m even later to the game than you; I read the first book in maybe 2005, but didn’t read the next three books until last winter. Then I had to stop my Harry Potter binge session to catch up on other books to review for my blog. *Dies.* I’ll be able to dive back in hopefully in August or September!

    But here’s the kicker: I have a master’s degree in children’s and YA lit. And I hadn’t read beyond the first Harry Potter book until a few months ago. I feel like I haven’t actually earned my degree yet because of this blasphemy.

    Anyway, I didn’t read your reviews of each book, but I loved your story! Glad you finally read the series, and loved it. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh no, that’s so sad to hear, I hope that you find the time to finish reading it in the near future! And if you accidentally read any spoilers, I am deeply sorry for spoiling you! 😦

      YOU HAVE A MASTER’S DEGREE IN CHILDREN’S AND YA LITERATURE?! WOW, JUST WOW. That sounds totally amazing. I find that funny, you better not hang your diploma on the wall unless you finished Harry Potter! Haha, just kidding.

      Well, that’s a relief! Hope you enjoy reading the rest of it. Thank you! Your story was extremely interesting too, thanks for sharing! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I grew up having Harry Potter read out loud to me until I got impatient and read books 3-7 myself! These books are so fantastic, I think they actually give bookworms life. I recently reread them all last summer and I remember while reading the 7th book I was basically in tears the entire thing from Hedwig’s death (which is VERY early on) until the end. I was a mess.

    I just love this post so much because I can so relate. There are times when I wish I experienced them for the first time when I was older because it would be a completely different experience, but I was also entranced by the magic as a kid and I think it’s what got me into reading!

    PS. I’m a Ravenclaw as well 😎 Luna Lovegood is my spirit animal.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ohh you were one of those lucky ones who had a magical childhood! I agree, I love how powerful these book are, and how they have changed a large number of lives. Yes, Hedwig! I don’t why I totally forgot about her in this post, I also cried because her death was so sudden and it happened at the beginning where I STILL haven’t recovered form Dumbledore’s death from the last book. I’m planning on re-reading it after some months, and I can’t imagine the anticipation and sadness you felt because you already knew what will happen!

      Your childhood must have been so great and magical! I think you’re super lucky because you’ve known them and been with Harry and the others since you were a kid!

      OMG YAY! RAVENCLAW HOUSE PRIDE! Luna is the best character EVER (together with Harry, Ron and Hermione of course lol)

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Ahhh, I loved this post sooooo much. I discovered Harry Potter when I was child (I was 11, actually so it made it feel even more magical because I got to grow along with the characters), but I love that it’s a series that is timeless and that people of all ages can get into it. It’s such a magical series and definitely changed my life and inspired me to want to keep reading. I love everything about it so much. I still remember counting down the days for the releases of books 5-7. It was so exciting finally having them in my hands. I loved reading all your thoughts and feelings and you’ve definitely inspired me to try and reread at least the first book this year. I’m 100% a Hufflepuff (even though Pottermore keeps insisting I’m a Gryffindor), but Luna is definitely my favourite characters and I relate to her a lot.

    Also, ngl, it’s been 15 years but I am still waiting for my Hogwarts letter. I’m determined that it’s gonna show up one day 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can imagine the 11 year old Lauren waiting eagerly everyday for her Hogwarts letter! You’re so lucky to have read the books at the perfect age, I can assume that Harry Potter made your childhood amazing and magical. It must have been hard waiting for the next books to be released! You should really re-read soon, so you can relive the magical experience. I believe you’re a Hufflepuff because if you were sorted by the real Sorting Hat and not by the Pottermore test, it would have considered your choice!

      Thank you for sharing your story and I’m super happy that you enjoyed this post. ❤

      Haha, I think deep down most of us are still waiting for our Hogwarts letter! And we should not lose hope, it will arrive someday, maybe the owl just got lost somewhere!

      Like

      • Haha, yes 😂 I feel really grateful that I got to experience it growing up! It really shaped a lot of my interests and it’s the reason why I ventured onto online communities (when I was older) and there’s definitely lots of fond memories associated with those books!!

        Yes, definitely 😊

        No worries! Thanks again for sharing it. I’m really glad you found these books ⚡️❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  8. OMG I am so jealous that you got to experience reading Harry Potter for the first time this year! I wish I could go back to when I was 10 and got my first book. It was Harry Potter And The Prisoner of Azkaban, because my aunt did not know it was a series and it was a get-well-soon gift. My stay at the hospital flew too fast, I read the first three books in a week. I was overly excited and couldn’t stop annoying my mom and friends about how awesome the books were. I was lucky to transition from a kid to a teen and then a young adult with the books and the movies. This is my favorite part of growing up. The rest basically sucked (except for the driving license thing xD).

    Liked by 1 person

    • WHY ARE YOU JEALOUS? HAHA, I’m the one who’s so jealous with your childhood! I’ve seen a Buzzfeed video where someone confessed that she/he sometimes wish to have a partial amnesia so that she/he can read Harry Potter like for the first time again. That was so funny. 😂😂

      Anywaysss, I so love your aunt because thanks to her you got to read the books! AND LOOK, YOU GREW UP WITH HARRY POTTER! That’s like so amazing. Haha, thanks for sharing your story! 😄💙

      Liked by 1 person

      • I knooooow, I would not trade it for all the chocolate in the world. Too bad my Hogwarts letter was lost when the owl got hit by the Tardis on its way to my house 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh my gosh.. I’m so happy you finally discovered Harry Potter.. I feel so old. I started being Potterhead since 2002. (and that was 14 years ago, ugh!)

    I started the same way you did. I couldn’t stop reading the whole series. I was already working at that time and was pleased with myself because I could finally afford to buy a book without worrying about my other needs. I just wanted to dwell in Hogwarts and be mesmerized by the magic that JK Rowling created. I loved Harry Potter himself, then Ron, then Draco. I think my favorite character, though, was the twins, Fred and George, and I cried so hard when one of them died. Ugh. I kinda expected Dumbledore’s death, because it was hinted when the Rowling was still writing Half Blood Prince. What floored me was Dobby’s death, too. It was an emotional time for me. And when Snape proved his worth in the end, I could no longer contain the tears from running down my eyes.

    Oh my gosh, again. I could tell you all Potterhead experiences I’ve had, but I think I might turn my comment into a telenovela.. hahaha.. I’m just happy for you because you finally found “magic”. Harry Potter series will always be special to us 🙂

    P.S.

    I also did the Sorting Hat ritual, and as expected, I belonged to the Gryffindor house, and became a Chaser in Quidditch. (I even dated Oliver Wood one time, too!) Hahaha! j/k

    Like

    • Wow that’s amazing to hear! I can’t wait to graduate and then work so I could spoil myself with Harry Potter merch and other bookish stuff like you did! The books were definitely worth the money you spent. I actually didn’t liked Draco in the book but I loved him in the movies haha. Ughhh, Fred’s death was so unexpected and it hurt so much. And Dobby, it still breaks my heart every time I think about his death! Yes, my life was so much better after reading HP. And glad that you love it as much, thank you for sharing you story!

      Hahaha, yay for your brave soul! 😊💙

      Liked by 1 person

    • OMG YAY! Hufflepuff is a bit underrated but you’re all still very awesome wizards and witches! That’s okay, I personally think that the books are WAY better than the movies.

      And sorry for the late reply, I checked my spam comments for the very first time today and found your comment, which I have no idea on why and how it was there.

      Liked by 1 person

      • XD It is though! Thank you haha, I always feel a little huffy about the amount of recognition it gets (AKA none). Good to hear!
        No problem, that’s happened to me before too. Honestly, I don’t know why either, but I am a pretty spammy person, so maybe WordPress is just too smart for me. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Genie Shares: Last Valentine’s Day | geniereads

  11. Pingback: May Wrap-up [2016] | geniereads

  12. Pingback: Commenting 365 Challenge Update #5 | Rabbit Ears Productions Blog

  13. Pingback: Potterhead July: Fantastic Stuff and Where to Find Them | geniereads

  14. Pingback: Book Blogger Insider Tag + 500 Followers / I’M NOW ON TWITTER! | geniereads

  15. Pingback: Commenting 365 Challenge Update #6 | Rabbit Ears Productions Blog

  16. Pingback: Year Ender Post: Top Books for 2016 & Goals for 2017 | geniereads

Leave a Reply

