Books that I NEED to Read Before Summer Ends

HHHH (2)

So my Mom was watching the news yesterday and I heard the weather forecaster saying things about Low Pressure Areas and Typhoons, which basically mean that SUMMER is over. Which is pretty evident because of all that rain these past few days.

Well, rain doesn’t really mean that Summer VACATION is already over, because I’m still on vacation for 18 more days.

giphy (13)

HOW COULD THIS BE REAL? I ONLY HAVE 18 DAYS LEFT BEFORE SCHOOL??!!! UGHHHHH, THIS FEELS SO WRONG. SERIOUSLY, SUMMER CAME BY SO FAST.

I am now panicking because, I still HAVE A LOT OF BOOKS that I want to read before I get busy with schoolwork. I’m an impulsive reader, and I pick-out my next read randomly. I don’t usually make a list of books that I’m going to read.

But because I feel like I need to pressure myself into spending more time on reading, I decided to make a short list of the books that I NEED to read before summer ends.

S

 

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock1. Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

I bought this book on a whim last Sunday because I’ve seen a lot of good reviews about it. I’ll start reading this today after I finish writing this post and I’m super excited for it, its plot sounds so intriguing.

Finding Audrey

2. Finding Audrey
by Sophie Kinsella

I have been avoiding this book for couple of months already, I don’t know why,but  now I finally feel like reading it. It’s about a 14-year old girl named Audrey and she has an Anxiety Disorder. Sounds promising, I hope I’ll enjoy reading this.

What We Saw

3. What We Saw
by Aaron Hartzler

I FINALLY GOT A COPY OF THIS after months of waiting! I was so drawn by the title and cover when I saw this book and the plot is really interesting, it certainly deals with a heavy topic. And it has some mystery part too!

Shuffle, Repeat

4. Shuffle, Repeat
by Jen Klein

This has been one of my most anticipated May book release. I have an e-book copy of this, and I’m so excited to read it. I can feel that it will be a fluffy and wonderful contemporary! And it has music too, yay!

The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You

5. The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You by Lily Anderson

This is another May release, though I’ve discovered this through other blogger’s reviews here on WordPress. And it seems like most people loved it, and I think I will too because I love reading about nerdy and dorky characters.

Saint Anything

6. Saint Anything 
by Sarah Dessen

Okay now, CONFESSION TIME. So it’s pretty obvious that I’m a huge contemporary reader, and Sarah Dessen is like a royalty in the Contemporary world because she has written a lot of books. But I have only read one book from her, and that is The Truth About Forever which was an okay read for me, it wasn’t horrible but it also wasn’t memorable so I basically avoided reading her other books. But I’m giving her another chance by reading this one, I’m hoping to really like this book!

No Love Allowed

7. No Love Allowed by Kate Evangelista

So this is really an optional read for me, I’m not pressuring myself on reading this before school starts but I just added it because I might end up reading it too.

Well, there goes the first part of my list. Please note that I might not read them according to its order here.

I’m really hoping to finish reading all of them before school starts! Now, I know that all of the books on the list and most of my past reads are all contemporaries so that brings us to the second half of my list, where I ask you guys a very important question…

S

I don’t read book series very often because I tend to invest a lot of my emotions and thoughts to them which leaves me feeling mentally and emotionally drained! (I’m weird, I know)

But now I’m ready, I want to get involved in another fictional world! BUT I CAN’T DECIDE ON WHAT TO READ. It’s a big, big world of book series out there but I’ve narrowed down my choices into two:

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

OR

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

I honestly can’t choose between them, both series intrigues me in their own way. So I’m asking you all bookish people out there for your recommendation and opinions. I’m planning on starting to read my chosen series right before the first day of school, because I can feel that the first week would be dreadful and a bit uneventful, so hopefully this would help me stay sane!

Please, please, please help me on this or I might just end up flipping the coin to find my decision. Thank you all in advance!


In other news, Jennifer Niven, the author of All the Bright Place aka one of the best books I’ve ever read, is here in the Philippines!!! OMG YAY RIGHT?!

adventure time sandwich sad cartoon crying

WELL NO. I’M NOT HAPPY AT ALL. I FEEL SO SAD RIGHT NOW. Why? Because I can’t attend her book signing event on Sunday. AND IT HURTS MY HEART SO MUCH, IT JUST SO UNFAIR!

So I asked my parents for permission I was like, (while holding my copy of ATBP) “Here’s the thing, the author of this wonderful book is coming HERE ON SUNDAY AND I HAVE TO GO THERE AND LET HER SIGN THIS BOOK PLS PLS PLS PLS PLS”, and then they said no. The main reason is the location of the event which is a 2-hour drive from where I live, and my father can’t drive me there because he has work this Sunday and I. AM. NOT. ALLOWED. TO. COMMUTE. THERE. which is totally unfair in my opinion.

That’s it, I’m done talking about this. If you’re a Filipino and you’re lucky enough to go there, I hope you have fun and get your book signed and have a picture with Jennifer Niven and hug her and

anigif_enhanced-buzz-28698-1406684418-12

I’m just going to be in my bed all Sunday long, crying.


 

Anyways, so what do you think about my list? Have you read any of the books listed? What are your insights about the books? Share me your thoughts!

AND PLEASE HELP ME TO DECIDE: The Lunar Chronicle (which is a fairytale re-telling with cyborgs and idk what else) or The 5th Wave (one word: ALIENS!)

Please do leave any comments, thoughts, messages, reactions, and/or suggestions! Thank you for reading. Until next time,

❤ Louise

54 thoughts on “Books that I NEED to Read Before Summer Ends

  1. I feel the pain! When your parents tell you no to go somewhere you’re DYING too 😥😥 but nvm! I hope you get to meet her someday 🙂
    And, I haven’t read The 5th Wave so I may not be the best person to choose but Lunar Chronicles is really fun! So you could pick that up. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s just heartbreaking not being able to go especially when authors don’t often visit here. I hope so too *sighs*
      Haha that’s okay! It really does sound pretty fun because of all the fairytale re-tellings. Thank you! Enjoy reading too ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yay, I have high hopes for it and I really want to love that book and give Sarah Dessen a second chance.
      I know right, so heartbreaking </3 Oh my I'm so happy for you and your daughter! I hope you'll have a fun summer! And it's super interesting that we're experiencing the exact opposite haha, just proves how awesome the world is lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been meaning to read The Lunar Chronicles as well. If you ever get around to it, would love to know what you think of it.

    I’m not too familiar with all the other books you have on your list, although I hear that Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock was pretty good.

    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hope you’ll have the time to read it soon! I’ll definitely share my thoughts about it, if I end up reading it.
      I’m halfway through Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock and I’m really enjoying the book. It’s is a really fast-paced, interesting read!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Finding Audrey it was such a good read lots of fun but still poignant and emotional. Im gonna vote for 5th Wave. I tried reading The Lunar Chronicles and couldn’t get into it at all. Best of luck getting your reading some before school starts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad that you loved Finding Audrey, I find it funny because every time I say it in my mind it reminds me of Finding Dory haha sorry for being weird lol. So sorry that you didn’t get into reading The Lunar Chronicles. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I really want to read Cinder soon, so I’ll vote for The Lunar Chronicles! 🙂
    That’s torture when a book event happens and you can’t attend it, I know the feeling.
    Good luck with all the reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. First of all I’m so sorry that you can’t attend the signing! An author I really like and whose book I had a super personal connection with is coming to my capital city (which is super rare too), but I’m six hours away and can’t make it down so I feel your pain.

    Secondly, I hope the remaining 18 days of your summer are awesome and you get lots of reading done ♥

    As for the books I really want to read What We Saw. It sounds really important. I want to read both of those series too! I think I’m going to read Cinder next, but I also want to read The 5th Wave because ALIENS. Sorry, that probably didn’t help you at all 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh no that’s sad too 😦 I wish we lived closer to where the events will take place. It is really frustrating how most of the book signing takes place at the capital city! </3

      Yes, I hope so too! Though I just realized that I'll be a bit busy next week with before-school-starts activities, but I'll still find the time to read.

      What We Saw really intrigues me, and it seems that it covers an important and heavy topic. Haha, that's okay I hope you'll also enjoy reading both series! ❤

      Like

  6. I am just about to start What We Saw. I don’t really read books with such heavy topics, but this seems like a really interesting point of view.
    I haven’t read the 5th Wave, it is sitting on my kindle waiting to be read, but I am in the middle of reading the Lunar Chronicles and I love them. It’s the best series I’ve read in a while, and I like that there is more than one or two main characters.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh yay, hope that you’ll enjoy reading it. I know right, it seems like an important book to read. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts about it!

      That really says something about The Lunar Chronicles! Glad that you liked it. And thanks for sharing your thoughts, it’s very much appreciated. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I want to read Finding Audrey and No Love Allowed… I finished The Only Thing Worse Than Me is You, and I loved it 🙂 For the series choice, both are my favorites… Cinder is a great series, but so is Rick Yancey’s.. I have started both, and haven’t finished reading them all. So I don’t think I can help on that situation, LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hope you’ll pick up both books and enjoy reading them! Actually the main reason why I want to read No Love Allowed is because it’s written by a Filipino author which I think is awesome.

      Oh, I have heard a lot of great things about that book which makes me even more excited to read it! Hope that I’ll love it like you did.

      Haha, no worries. I find it reassuring to know you liked both series, thanks for sharing your thoughts! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I suggest The 5th Wave. I haven’t read it, but I’ve wanted to for a while now. I’ve heard some good thoughts about it so it might be great. I was going to read the Lunar Chronicles, but I haven’t had a chance to do that either. (My TBR list is so very long.) A nice sci fi about Aliens or a remake of Cinderella, hope you like whatever choice you make!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, I’ll definitely consider your choice. Oh my, I’m super jealous right now. Hope you’ll enjoy your summer vacation and that you’ll have lots of reading time. Haha, feel free to do so. I’m super glad to be of help. ❤

      Like

    • Oh yay! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts about the books you’ll read. The Lunar Chronicles is really gaining a lot of votes here, it seems like everybody loved it! So I’ll probably read that one. Thank you, enjoy reading too! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • Omg, you’re so lucky! I wish I could go back to my first day of summer. Hope you’ll have a great summer and a lot of reading time. I’ll definitely read it next, glad to hear that you’re loving the book! Can’t wait to see your thoughts about it. 🙂

      Like

    • Everybody seems to love The Lunar Chronicles, so I’ll take your word for it. 😄 Thanks! My actual goal this whole summer is to find the perfect summer read. *sighs* Yes, it’s just a handful of days left and I just realised that I’ll be a bit busy next week. So I’m really hoping to finish reading all said books. 😅

      Like

  9. Last summer I was obsessed with the Lunar Chronicles. I read that whole series in less than two weeks. The 5th wave is great too, but if I had to choose one, it’ll have to be the Lunar chronicles. I see you’re from the Philippines! I’m visiting my boyfriends family in the Philippines in November and i’m super excited. Not excited about that 23 hour flight though.

    Ahhh! I’m sorry you weren’t able to see Jennifer Niven, hopefully one day you get too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Everyone seems to love The Lunar Chronicles so I’ll probably read that series, because I’m super curious about it now. Oh wow, that’s amazing news! Hope that you’re going to a place near me haha. That’s a looooong flight, even though I love airplanes that doesn’t sound like a pretty exciting experience. *sighs* It really is sad, I do hope for that day to come. Thanks! ❤

      Like

  10. I’ve read What We Saw last year and it was gripping! I was excited when I started reading Finding Audrey and Saint Anything (also last year) but I had mixed feelings with both. But still, they were fine. And I vote for 5th Wave. I haven’t read the series myself but I’m planning to because the movie was actually good! 🙂

    By the way, where do you go to school?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m really excited to read What We Saw. Oh that’s not that good to hear but I’ll definitely give both books a try and see how I feel about them. I actually avoided seeing the movie, even though I love Chloe Moretz, because I haven’t read the books! Thanks for sharing your thoughts. ❤

      I go to my city's Science High School for Senior HS, I'm actually an incoming Grade 11 student. Haha, why do you ask?

      Like

      • I just thought you’re in college already and attending a university or a college. Haha. Anyway, I just thought I’d ask. And it’s really sad that summer is over and classes are starting soon. I also have a sister in Grade 10 and she feels the same.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I really want to be in college, to be homest haha. But Kto12 happened, and now I still have two more years to think about what course to take. Glad to hear that I’m not the only one who’s not very excited to go back to school. 😊😊

        Like

  11. Pingback: May Wrap-up [2016] | geniereads

Leave a Reply

