Review: Defending Taylor

DT.png

Defending TaylorDefending Taylor by Miranda Kenneally

My Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

There are no mistakes in love.

Captain of the soccer team, president of the Debate Club, contender for valedictorian: Taylor’s always pushed herself to be perfect. After all, that’s what is expected of a senator’s daughter. But one impulsive decision-one lie to cover for her boyfriend-and Taylor’s kicked out of private school. Everything she’s worked so hard for is gone, and now she’s starting over at Hundred Oaks High.

Soccer has always been Taylor’s escape from the pressures of school and family, but it’s hard to fit in and play on a team that used to be her rival. The only person who seems to understand all that she’s going through is her older brother’s best friend, Ezra. Taylor’s had a crush on him for as long as she can remember. But it’s hard to trust after having been betrayed. Will Taylor repeat her past mistakes or can she score a fresh start?

my-review

I shut my eyes. All my hard work. Years and years of pushing myself. All down the drain, because people never notice good news. They flock to the bad.

I went into this book without knowing or having any background about it, I requested this from Netgalley without even looking at its Goodreads’ page. And of course I was really surprised when I found out that this book is part of a series called Hundred Oaks, nevertheless all the books from the series are safe to read as a stand-alone so there was really no harm done.

So yeah, I didn’t know that this was already the 7th book of the series and I’m ashamed to say that I was really underwhelmed. This book didn’t really deliver to me at all. I started reading this way back the start of June and finished it at the middle of July, which is seriously a long time considering the length of the book. I wasn’t hooked at any parts of it and I struggled to reach the end.

The overall plot was fine, it was generally intriguing and I was really curious at first to read how it will all develop into but sadly, as I slowly made my way into the story it just felt flat and very predictable.

The story starts of with Taylor transferring to Hundred Oaks because she got kicked-out from her private school when she covered up for her boyfriend. She thought that she could get away with it, being a senator’s daughter but she didn’t. Now her life is basically ruined because of that stupid decision. Her future, and ultimately her Father’s career is on the line because of the one and only time she made a mistake.

Taylor was a somewhat relatable character for me, in terms of working hard in school to maintain high grades and pushing herself but the was the end of our connection. I really didn’t care for her character at all, and that’s what hindered me from enjoying the book. I guess she was really a strong person because she endured all the things that happened to her life and being the senator’s daughter is never hard but really I couldn’t feel the pain that she was feeling. I think that if I connected to her in an emotional level like in other contemporary books that I read, I would have enjoyed this book a hundred times more.

One thing that I liked about this book is the family aspect of it, I liked how Taylor’s family life was really important to her and her relationship with each member of the family was established really well. I loved her relationship with her father the State senator and how it helped kept the story interesting.

The romance was okay, I think some people will have no problem falling in love with the love interest Ezra because he is truly a sweet character but he didn’t swept me off my feet. Their relationship felt rushed for me, and I wanted more depth.

I couldn’t argue how well the author wrote the story especially from a very simple plot, and she really gets how teenagers think and act. But I didn’t enjoy the overall writing style, maybe that’s another factor why I couldn’t get into the book.

Despite all that, I would still recommend this book. It is a not-so cutesy yet not-so serious contemporary perfect for a quick weekend read. I feel like I would have enjoyed this book if I read it some other time and maybe I will read it again to see how I’ll feel.

Thank you so much Netgalley and the publisher for giving me an eARC of this book.


That’s all, thank you so much for reading. If you want to read more book reviews from this blog, just click here. And you could also find my reviews in Goodreads.

8 thoughts on “Review: Defending Taylor

  1. Great review 🙂
    I always find it hard to get engrossed in a story if I don’t care for the characters, there has to be a balance between them and the plot for the story to work for me. I’m sorry to hear this one did not live up to its potential for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: August Wrap-up [2016] + TBR | geniereads

Leave a Reply

