August Wrap-up [2016] + TBR

AUG 2016.png

Hey there!

I’m here to do a very late Wrap-up for the month of August (obviously) and I just realized that my last Wrap-up was back in May, which just shows how I’m a really bad blogger. But anyways, August had been really good to me because I managed to read a few books this month!

So yay for that, and enough of my blabbering… here’s my August Wrap-up!


q

sssssI have only read five books this month which is definitely not a lot but I’m still proud of it because I’ve been to a dreadful reading slump for the last two months and I was only able to finish ONE book (I think) during that time.

Fortunately, I’m still ahead of my reading schedule, according to my Goodreads Reading Challenge and I’m at 77% already.

So here are the books I read last August:

t

  • The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder (★★★☆☆)
  • What’s a Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne (★★★★★)
  • Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley (★★★★☆)
  • You Know Me Well by Nina LoCour & David Levithan (★★★★☆)
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Parts One and Two (★★★★☆)

As you guys may have noticed, I haven’t posted any reviews for any of these books but don’t worry I will be posting them soon! Well, except for my review for the Cursed Child because I really can’t put to words my feelings for this book and just can’t write a decent review. My feelings are still conflicted, I loved and hated it at the same time. It made me cry, laugh, frustrated, and all the feelings at once and that is all I could really say.

So for the other four books, just watch out for my reviews. (winks)


w

Yes, I know I have been so low on blog posts for the last few months (sighs). I haven’t done any tags or awards lately, and I’ve seen/read a lot of new interesting tags around here. Maybe, I’ll do one soon? Anyways, I only managed to publish two blog posts this month. YES ONLY TWO, I’M A BAD BLOGGER, I KNOW.

Book Review:

Genie Shares:

So I’m definitely aiming to post more this month and for the upcoming months, hopefully. I’m not going to make any more excuses (if you want to read my excuses just read my Genie Shares post!) and just really, really, really try my best to read and write as much as I can.


r

This is like my TBR list for September, but I can’t promise that I’ll stick to this list because I am really a moody and impulsive reader, so I might read an entire different selection of books!

But I’ll try my real best to read these books this month:

u.png

As you may have noticed, most books on this list are Contemporaries which is because I missed reading them so much and I truly need to feel fluffy and light especially with school stressing me out. I still haven’t decided which one I’ll read first, but I have already started with Bone Sparrow and I’m slowly getting my way into it.


So there goes my August Wrap-up (it stinks, I know) and my version of a TBR. I will do my best to post more this month and to be a more dedicated blogger.

I hope you all had a more productive reading and blogging month, tell me all about it on the comments! I haven’t read a lot of August wrap-ups yet so you can leave a link of your Wrap-up at the comments (only if you want to!) and I’ll check them out.

Have you guys read any of the books I’ve mentioned in this post? Or are you also planning on reading any of the books on my list? Let’s talk about them.

May we all have a wonderful and productive September! Happy reading and blogging to all, and thanks for reading.

Please do leave any comments, thoughts, messages, reactions, and/or suggestions! Thank you for reading.

Until next time,

 louise.png
Twitter | Goodreads | Contact

21 thoughts on “August Wrap-up [2016] + TBR

    • Yes, it really is a controversial book! Well I think it’s both okay if you read it or not, because it may potentially ruin the whole series for you or it might make you love the series even more! Haha. Personally, I read it because 1) I’ll read anything HP-related and 2) I just had to know what will happen. 😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You had a great reading month! No bad books for you, lucky! 🙂
    Highly Illogical Behavior is on my nightstand, I’m really looking forward to reading it. I had issues with The Cursed Child, it took me four days to decide if I had liked it or not. It was okay but I wish they had not billed it as the 8th Harry Potter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Donna! I don’t know if I’m lucky or just really generous when it comes to giving stars lol.
      Highly Illogical Behavior was a surprisingly refreshing book for me, I definitely enjoyed and I hope you’ll do too! Same, definitely had a hard time processing everything with the Cursee Child. I like to think of it as a freebie that came along with the series, if that makes any sense. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I love it when there’s a series of good books like that, but it makes it harder for the next stories to keep up!
        Haha! That totally makes sense, seeing it as a freebie helps keeping the expectations a bit lower!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks like you had a great reading month, Louise! I’m glad to see that you liked Highly Illogical Behaviour – I really enjoyed that book as well and thought the relationships were very well-written.

    Can’t wait for you to tuck into The Bone Sparrow! I haven’t heard a lot of things about that book but the subject matter is intriguing.

    Here’s to an even better September. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • I definitely did! Thank you so much, Reg. I also really enjoyed reading Highly Illogical Behavior and I’ll probably post my review tomorrow. I’m so glad to hear that you liked the book as well.
      I’m half-way through it, and I’m finding it very intriguing indeed. Happy reading! ❤😄

      Like

    • I know right, that’s why I usually don’t have a monthly TBR. But thankfully, I have finished reading those two books! And I really enjoyed it as well, I gave Everything, Evrything 4 stars and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda 5 stars because it was adorable haha. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Lauren! The Spinster Club is definitely one of my favorite series, I love how it tackles feminism in a very relatable way especially for teens. OMG YESSSS, glad the we’re on the same page with The Cursed Child! 😆

      Like

Leave a Reply

