Review: Highly Illogical Behavior

HIB.png

Highly Illogical BehaviorHighly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Sixteen-year-old Solomon is agoraphobic. He hasn’t left the house in three years, which is fine by him.

Ambitious Lisa desperately wants to get into the second-best psychology program for college (she’s being realistic). But is ambition alone enough to get her in?

Enter Lisa.

Determined to “fix” Sol, Lisa steps into his world, along with her charming boyfriend, Clark, and soon the three form an unexpected bond. But, as Lisa learns more about Sol and he and Clark grow closer and closer, the walls they’ve built around themselves start to collapse and their friendships threaten to do the same.

my-review

“We’re just floating in space trying to figure out what it means to be human.”

I honestly thought that this would be another one of those “love-can-fix-everything-even-mental-illness” stories where the main character would be magically healed because of the love of the significant other, but thankfully this book isn’t anything like that.

The synopsis tells us that Lisa is determined to “fix” Solomon who is diagnosed with Agoraphobia, and she literally does try to because she’s the most ambitious know-it-all girl in the fictional world. (Just kidding)

Lisa’s character was very strong which made her very unlikable in my opinion. Her intentions on befriending Solomon was extremely selfish. But I can say that her character development throughout the book was ideal, I liked that she became a lot less annoying towards the end, she realized and admitted her wrong-doings. And I liked how genuinely became Solomon’s friend.

Solomon on the other hand, was definitely a lovable and adorable character. He is so nerdy and adorable (oh I’ve already said that). I seriously wanted to be his friend, and just hang-out and play board games with him. The portrayal of mental illness in this book was on point and I daresay, realistic. The scenes where Solomon had panic attacks were so raw and real that I counted to ten with him because I really wanted to help. Solomon’s character is one of those that you care for, even though he’s fictional I cared and worried about his well-being because he’s a precious cinnamon roll.

The other characters like Clark Lisa’s boyfriend and eventually Solomon’s friend played a vital roll in the story. His character was intriguing and played-out pretty well. While Solomon’s parents definitely deserves an award for being one of the best parents in the YA fictional world, they were extremely cool and funny, and they didn’t pushed Solomon into getting any better but let him develop at his own pace. And Solomon’s grandmother was absolutely a plus!

This is a character-driven book with very realistic characters but its plot was also one of a kind, it made me feel a lot of emotions while reading which just shows how effective the plot and writing style was.

It’s not too hard to disappear when no one’s looking for you. That’s what we do sometimes. We let people disappear. We want them to. If everyone just stays quiet and out-of-the-way, then the rest of us can pretend everything’s fine. But everything is not fine. Not as long as people like Solomon have to hide. We have to learn to share the world with them.

Now, for the what I think was the best thing about this book— which is the FRIENDSHIP. As I said, I honestly thought that this would fall unto the romance category but it surprisingly didn’t. There was definitely some romance in the story but it was only in the background because the plot focused on the friendship. And I’m just so happy whenever YA books are more focused on friendship because IT RARELY HAPPENS. So yeah, the Lisa-and-Solomon-plus-Clark friendship was on the spotlight, it was genuine and like any other friendships it had its ups and downs.

Highly Illogical Behavior is a fast-paced and realistic book, with lovable and not-so lovable characters. My only problem with it is its ending which left me hanging because I think it didn’t wrap everything up nicely. I just felt that it lacked closure, and ended poorly.

So did I enjoyed reading this book? Yes. Do I recommend it? Yes. Do I want more books like it? Yes. Will I read Whaley’s other books? Yes.

If you guys enjoy contemporary books that deal with Mental Illness and friendship then this book is for you! This definitely a must-read and it’s worth your precious reading time because it’s well-written, entertaining, thought-provoking and it doesn’t sugarcoat anything.


That’s all, thank you so much for reading. If you want to read more book reviews from this blog, just click here. And you could also find my reviews in Goodreads.

6 thoughts on “Review: Highly Illogical Behavior

Leave a Reply

