Year Ender Post: Top Books for 2016 & Goals for 2017

Heyheyhey there! ✨

Before the year ends I just wanted to squeeze in one more post, so here it is! Truly, 2016 was such a wonderful reading year for me—I read a lot of books, finished my Goodreads Reading Challenge (71/60 books read) and added a lot to my Favorite’s shelf!

And of course I wanted to share to all of you my top 16-ish books for 2016 as well as my reading + blogging goals for 2017.

2016-b

I read a total of 71 books this year and I’m quite proud of myself because last year I only read 50 books and some were re-reads but this year I had zero re-reads. If you want to see my year in books courtesy of Goodreads, check it out here.

With all those books read it’s guaranteed that there were some disappointing books, okayish ones, and of course the best ones that made laugh/cry/fall in love/frustrated/literally all the emotions at once and gave a great impact to my life.

I tried my best to categorize them into similar categories, and this list contains 16+ books but I kinda considered the one’s from the same book series as one to make it 16. (If you found that confusing, it’ll make sense below!)


2016-6

Within these short reads are beautiful pieces of literature. The Little Prince is definitely one of those I’ll re-read again and again while growing older; Milk and Honey is simply everything, it’s one of my favorite poetry books ever; and Tuwing Ikatlong Sabado (Every Third Saturday) is a collection of Spoken Word pieces by my favorite group of people and it’s just full of feels.

 


2016-2

I absolutely love The Spinster Club series and my favorite book is What’s a Girl Gotta Do? because Lottie is my spirit animal. I’m counting Cress and Winter as one entry for my list because I’m the boss and I CAN’T DECIDE WHICH ONE IS BETTER. I loved them both, I love The Lunar Chronicles so much, I love the Rampion crew, and I’m just so happy that I finally decided to read this series.

 


2016-1

I’m also counting all these 7 books as one entry for my list, and NOPE this is not a re-read because I actually just read this series this year AND IT DEFINITELY MADE MY YEAR SO MUCH BETTER. Finally reading and watching the whole series, opened my eyes to the fact that magic Harry Potter is everywhere, I swear there is not a day that I don’t see anything HP-related. Plus, I read it just in time for the Cursed Child and the Fantastic Beasts film! The best thing for me is how I get to talk fangirl to my friends all the time, especially that some of them also decided to read it this year. YAY FOR POTTERHEADS. YAY FOR HARRY POTTER. 50 POINTS TO RAVENCLAW!

 


2016-3

So these are the contemporary/realistic fiction books that really got me right in the feels this year. I love reading books that deal with serious topics like mental illnesses and rape especially when it’s done in the right way. These 3 books got me on the edge of my sit with its gripping stories!

 


2016-4

On a lighter note, here’s some contemporaries that I really really liked. Me Before You is not really a light read because it had me ugly crying in the middle of the night and does deal with serious issues. I love reading light and fluffy books that’s why I loved both The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You (I seriously loved the romance and the high school aspect of it) and Wanderlost (a.k.a the book that had me wanting to wander and travel across the globe ASAP).

 


2016-5

And yes more contemporaries, but these are the BEST out of bunch. These are the books that hold a special place not only in my shelf but also my heart. The writing, characters and their development, romance—EVERYTHING WAS WONDERFUL AND AHHHHHH. I’m so thankful that I got to read these and that they exist.

So that was my Top 16-ish books for 2016. Now, it’s time to get really ambitious because here’s  my reading and blogging goals for 2017.

 


2016-c

When 2016 started, I only had two reading goals: to read the Harry Potter series and to finish my Goodreads challenge. And I’m satisfied because I accomplished them both. See how I didn’t even planned to have a blog at the start of 2016? That’s because impulsive Louise just made this blog on a whim last May.

But now that I have a blog, I’ll be setting 17 Reading and Blogging Goals for 2017. Here’s my list:

  1. Read 70+ books. (still not sure on the exact number so I’ll settle on this for now)
  2. Read some Classic books. (planning on reading 1 classic per month = 12 classic books)
  3. Read A Song of Ice and Fire series. (I’M READY FOR YOU!!!)
  4. Read at least 5 book series. (preferably the sci-fi/fantasy ones)
  5. Read more diversely. (do I still have to explain how important this is? Yes, it’s very important so I’ll do my best to accomplish this one)
  6. Read more books from other genres other than contemporary. (tbh, I’m slightly getting tired of contemporaries so I’ll try to explore other genres)
  7. Read more books from Local/Filipino authors. (because Philippine literature is so rich and Filipino authors are very talented!)
  8. Blog more consistently: at least 1-2 blog post a week. (you can do this self!)
  9. Post my very first discussion post, and to post regularly from then on. (if you noticed I haven’t posted any discussion posts yet but I will! Hopefully, soon.)
  10. Achieve that 80% feedback ratio on NetGalley. (and to stop harassing the request button)
  11. Reach 1k followers. (very ambitious but dream big or go home, right?)
  12. Receive a physical ARC. (haven’t had the guts to contact any publishers yet, but I will though not-so soon because I’m not yet ready!)
  13. Share to my family that I have a blog. (yup, it’s still a big secret and I’ll probably only tell them when I receive a physical ARC because I have to explain then where the book came from)
  14. Win a giveaway. (CLAIMING IT THIS 2017. WISH. ME. LUCK.)
  15. Start a bookstagram and/or booktube. (instagram>youtube, but still not sure. I’ll probably start one during my summer vacation.)
  16. Save up for a book buying fund. (more of a personal goal because when you’re a hungry and struggling high school student money doesn’t come easily! That’s why I plan to save at least 500 php/month for books)
  17. Continue to enjoy blogging. (because what’s the point of all of these if I’m not having fun right?)

So those were my goals for the year 2017! I’m doubting that I’ll be able to accomplish most of them but I need to start the year by being optimistic right? Hopefully, I’ll get a 17/17 by this time next year.


 

There goes my last post for 2016! Hope you got through all of that, sorry for the long post. I had tons of fun writing this and sharing my 2016 top books and 2017 goals! In just a few hours, we’ll be welcoming a brand new year—a blank slate perfect for making some changes/improvements, a lot of memories, meeting new friends, reading and buying new books, and starting a Goodreads Challenge.

So now, share me your thoughts! Do you have any of my best books in your 2016 list? What are your top books for 2016? Have you accomplished your Goodreads Challenge this year? Do you have a list of your 2017 goals or are you just going to wing it next year?

And to end this post and year, here’s a pretty picture of me picture of some muggle girl wishing you a wonderful and productive New Year filled with happiness and books! May you get that New Year’s kiss at midnight or at least eat some good food!

anigif.gif

Hope that you’re having a great day today, happy reading and blogging! 

Please do leave any comments, thoughts, messages, reactions, and/or suggestions! Thank you for reading.

Until next time,

louise.png

Twitter | Goodreads | Contact

49 thoughts on “Year Ender Post: Top Books for 2016 & Goals for 2017

  1. SO MANY GOOD BOOKS. I loved Simon, Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock, The Lunar Chronicles, and, of course, the Harry Potter series! ❤️ I can never choose between Cress and Winter either; they both have such great romances and my favorite characters and I can never make a decision! Happy New Year! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know right! Oohhh, so glad to hear that. ❤ Same, I love both books so much but Cress and Cinder (I didn't liked Cinder-the-book that much though) are my top characters! And ahhh yes, the romance! My favorite ships are Kaider and Cresswell, I LOVE THEM SO MUCH!! ❤ ❤ ❤ Happy New Year to you too! May you have an amazing 2017 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. wow. Those goals are great. I haven’t heard of any of these books, so will be going to put them on my to buy pile. I plan to read something other than poetry in 2017. The amount of poetry I’ve read this year has been insane!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! ❤ Oh wow, thank you so much for taking my recommendations, I hope you'll enjoy them as well! I also like reading poetry from time to time, I'll be sure to check out your blog for some poetry book recommendations then. 🙂

      Like

  3. I LOVE THE RAMPION CREW SO MUCH! Although it is easier for me to decide between Cress and Winter, and my overall ranking usually puts Cress at the very top (because…just because of everything that happened in Cress, duh XD).

    It looks like you had a really good set of books in 2016. Happy new year and may your 2017 reads be just as great (or even better)!

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMG YAYYYY!! I agree, Cress was everything–every plot twist was done SO well but I just can’t get over Winter because it was the best conclusion ever. But I love Cress-the-character so much more than Winter. 😂😂😂

      Thank you! Hope that you also read a lot of great books last year, and that you’ll read more this year. Happy New Year, Mari ❤

      Like

  4. I loved reading your favs! I need to get more into contemporary but I’m more of a fantasy girl. I started reaidng classics this year and have been loving them. I hope you have a great 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Good luck with ALL of your reading/blogging goals Louise! As for blogging from my part, I need to set some goals and schedule posting posts and all that stuff because, 2016 saw a month of a truck load of posts and then no posts at all very frequently. AND I WILL NOT DISAPPOINT 2017 *poor kid 2016😂* Then, on the reading side, I have set a goal of reading 50 books this year because I couldn’t complete the 2015 and 2016 challenge I set either. Here’s to hoping for a better and fantabulous year. ❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! OMG I CAN RELATE TO THAT SO MUCH, I was posting like 15+ blog posts a month during summer but then when school started I was only able to post like 2 times a month. And I still don’t schedule my post and still very disorganized.

      Great blogging and reading goals! YOU CAN DO THIS! I believe that you can finish your reading challenge this year ❤ Yesss, to being better bloggers this 2017. May you read wonderful books and have an amazing 2017 ❤

      Like

  6. You only just read Harry Potter? Well, better late than never for sure! I read the Lunar Chronicles this year too, all 4 actually, and I’m completely in love. That whole group is just too perfect for me to handle! Good luck reading A Song of Ice and Fire! I’m up to book 3 – well, I’m halfway through actually, and had to stop because I needed some lighter reads. That was about 6 months ago… Reading more diversely and getting to 1k followers are two of my goals as well, so GOOD LUCK US, we can do this!!!
    (commenting from #eotybh chat)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ikr, I feel like my childhood was completely wasted without HP! YAYY, glad that you also loved TLC–the characters are seriously the best part. Thank you, hopefully I’ll be able to finish all the books even though it sounds pretty heavy. I’ll be sure to read something lighter in between the books. That’s okay because the best thing about books is that you can come back to them whenever you feel like it, so no pressure! We can definitely do this!! Happy New Year Victoria, and may you have an amazing 2017 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Okay, I absolutely love the format of this post and if it’s okay with you will definitely be stealing it for the end of 2017 if I’m still blogging which *fingers crossed* I will be.

    Onto the books!! milk and honey was amazing!! I’m so glad you read and loved Harry Potter 😀 I just read Simon Vs today and oh my god it was so adorable!!! I really need to read What We Saw and Am I Normal Yet?

    I love all your goals too!! Reading more diversely and reading more classics are some of mine too. Good luck, Louise 😀 I hope 2017 is amazing for you ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Lauren! Of course, you’ll still be blogging by then and you could definitely do something like this. ❤

      Milk and Honey is one of my favorite poetry books ever. OMG, Simon is the most adorable kid and OREOS!!! Yes, hope you'll read both of them soon and you'll liked them too.

      Yayy, hopefully we'll accomplish both of it. I'm a bit doubtful about reading more classics but I hope I'll push through. 😅😅 Thanks again, and Happy New Year! May you have a wonderful 2017 as well. ❤ ❤ ❤

      Like

  8. Louise, I’m sorry! I feel bad for not following your blog back before, but I’m so glad I came across it just now via #Bloghop2017. Also, I have nothing but love for all the books you’ve mentioned on this post. Out of your list, my most favorite is The Sun Is Also A Star, as I’m sure you know by now. Haha! Happy new year! 🙂

    Like

  9. Hi Louise! I just realized how much I love the whole look of your blog, and your content too! (Kinda obvious I wasn’t visiting for a while) but I’m glad that I’m finally able to! Anyway, go goals! I’m thinking of posting my goals too since yours had me inspired! 🙋

    Like

  10. For help with the physical ARC goal, I signed up for the Book Blogger List this year and got a TON of authors reaching out to me. Some of my ARCs have come through there so I’m sure you’d have the same luck!

    Like

  11. Pingback: Harry Potter Book Tag – Not-so-modern girl

  12. Me Before You is on my best book list for 2016 too. It made me sob like a baby but it was so good! Also, It makes me so happy to see The Sky Is Everywhere on your list. That book is probably one of my all time favorites as far as contemporaries go. As for 2017 goals, we have a few in common – reading more diverse books, doing regular discussions, and to finally get 80% on NetGalley. I also want to become a more organized blogger this year. Here’s to hoping we both complete all of our goals. I hope you have a fantastic 2017, Louise! 💕😊

    Like

  13. Love this post, a lot of your favourites of the year are some of my all time faves too like Simon and Milk and Honey !!! Can’t wait for more of your posts in 2017, happy new year !! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

