Review: P.S. I Like You

PSILY.png

P.S. I Like YouP.S. I Like You by Kasie West

My Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

my-review

Letters were safe. They were words, easy to read if enjoyable and stop reading if hurtful.

Kasie West never fails to make me feel all fluffy and warm while reading her books, P.S. I Like You is another feel good and wonderful contemporary that made me smile like an absolute lovesick puppy.

High school clichés and drama is what this book is all about, and I usually don’t have a problem with that especially when its written and done well. This book was okay-ish considering that amount of contemporaries I read. And that’s one of the reasons why I only gave this 3-stars, I’ve read this story a lot of times before.

You know that weird, quirky, self-conscious yet secretly amazing and cute girl? That’s Lily, one day she scribbles some lyrics to a desk and then the next day she finds that someone responded and continued the lyrics. And the following days, she finds herself having a secret pen-pal and anticipating the letters everyday.

But who is her secret pen-pal? Well, read the book to find out (duh). All, I can say is that you’ll actually guess who it is from the beginning and that you don’t have to wait until the end of the book to find out who it is.

One thing, that I really really liked here is the family aspect. I loved Lily’s big and crazy family. Her brothers were so adorable and the rabbit was also a plus. I loved how her family and home life was a big deal to the story and not just a house and parents to go to after school.

What I really really didn’t like though is all the unnecessary drama. In my humble opinion, the book would have done good without all the drama, specifically girl drama. While reading the book I write this note that says, “why do girls always fight over boys?”, because seriously why? I’m kind of over with all the queen-bee-likes-the-Significant Other-so-watch-your-back troupe and all that girl hating, I wish girls would be represented in other ways.

In the end, I still had a great time reading this. My heart soared with all the cutesy romance but my brain (the more rational part of me) stopped me from completely falling for this book.

So if you want an adorable and cutesy contemporary–READ THIS BOOK and get ready to be filled with FLUFFINESS! A fast-paced and cliché read that will probably brighten up your mood/day.

P.S. I like that Lily was a song writer/composer, her lyrics were quite poetic (but also cheesy at times).

A lyric came into my mind: You’re my favorite way to pass the time. But time stands still when you’re on my mind.

P.P.S. That cover is not pretty, and it does not represent the characters well.


That’s all, thank you so much for reading. If you want to read more book reviews from this blog, just click here. And you could also find my reviews in Goodreads.

7 thoughts on “Review: P.S. I Like You

  1. I thought I was the only one that didn’t like that cover! It’s because if my aversion to people on covers, probably. 😂 I’ve never read a Katie West books because I’m not a huge fan of contemporaries, but I heard this was just okay from most people, so I’m not surprised!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like a cute book, but I totally get the whole “Haven’t I read this before?” thing. I feel like a lot of contemporary books don’t stray away from a certain story line and so the writing has to blow you away in order to make up for it. And I agree, the cover is not too great…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: January Wrap-up + Favorites [2017] | geniereads

Leave a Reply

