Review: The Careful Undressing of Love

TCUOL.png

The Careful Undressing of LoveThe Careful Undressing of Love by Corey Ann Haydu

My Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Everyone who really knows Brooklyn knows Devonairre Street girls are different. They’re the ones you shouldn’t fall in love with. The ones with the curse. The ones who can get you killed.

Lorna Ryder is a Devonairre Street girl, and for years, paying lip service to the curse has been the small price of living in a neighborhood full of memories of her father, one of the thousands killed five years earlier in the 2001 Times Square Bombing. Then her best friend’s boyfriend is killed, and suddenly a city paralyzed by dread of another terrorist attack is obsessed with Devonairre Street and the price of falling in love.

Set in an America where recent history has followed a different path.

my-review

Whenever I read books from the Magical Realism genre, I always get this weird and whimsical feeling from them. This book wasn’t an exception, the plot and characters were weirdly good and the writing was the best part! It was lyrical and beautiful, it kind of reminded me of another magical realism read—The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender.

Falling in love truly has a price when you’re a Devonairre Street Girl, that’s the curse they’ve been taught. You love, the person you love dies. Whether this is true or just a superstition that Angelika has infused to them, Lorna and the other girls just have to discover for themselves.

I wouldn’t get into the plot because you know…spoilers but it does involve some wool coats, shared-birthdays, romances, an old lady that can detect love from you, a curse, some tragedies and a lot of lemons.

This book is like a contemporary spiced up with some extra shot of weird beliefs and a dash of magic. When I started reading I felt quite lost and needed some time to absorb what’s going on, but eventually I got hooked with the story especially at the last few chapters.

LornaCruzCharlotteDelilahIsla is this tight group of kids living at Devonairre Street, they’re the kids that have their own world around them like they’re trapped inside their own bubble or something. Lorna is our main character, and we got to see the story through her perspective alone. Even though Lorna was a powerful lead, I would have loved to see the book written in the perspective of each Devonairre Street girl because it would have leveled-up the story and give a higher chance in developing some plotlines. The other characters were all interesting and they have their own quirks. They all have long hairs and keys around their necks but the cast is pretty diverse with African-American and Puerto Rican characters.

The writing style is the best thing about this book. It’s lyrical, whimsical, and beautiful writing which is exactly what I enjoy reading. I wouldn’t have stayed until the end if it wasn’t that good. And for the ending, it was quite frustrating because I really enjoyed the last few chapters and then it gave such an abrupt and inadequate conclusion. The ones that will make you say, “what? that was it? where’s the other pages?”, and leave you feeling cheated because you needed more from it. Sighs.

The Careful Undressing of Love got a lot of mixed reviews, personally it was a YAY! because I really enjoyed it. Do I recommend it? Yes! If you like a magical realism book with intriguing characters laced with grief, love and a curse then this book is for you.

In the end, this book left me slightly frustrated (because of the ending!) and boggled with the question, “If the curse was true, is love worth the price?”

A huge thank you to Penguin Random House International for sending me an ARC of this book.


That’s all, thank you so much for reading. If you want to read more book reviews from this blog, just click here. And you could also find my reviews in Goodreads.

7 thoughts on “Review: The Careful Undressing of Love

  1. I received a copy from Penguin first to read and the file was missing pages: a LOT of pages. Like every other chapter. I wasn’t the only one either. So I tried again and couldn’t download it. So I moved on. It’s a shame bc I wanted to read it but I took it as a sign that it wasn’t meant to be. Maybe another time!
    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review, Louise 💕
    I really enjoyed The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender so this seems like it would be right up my alley! I love the whole whimisicalness that comes with Magic Realism, so I’m definitely adding this to my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Book Haul: February & March 2017 | geniereads

  4. Pingback: March Wrap-up + Favorites [2017] | geniereads

Leave a Reply

