Review: The Upside of Unrequited

TUOU.png

The Upside of UnrequitedThe Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

My Rating: ★★★★★ (5/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love-she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness-except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny, flirtatious, and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?

my-review

I just want to throw all the heart-eyed emojis to this book because IT’S SO ADORABLE AND THE FEELS ARE #REAL. Though I liked Simon just a bit more compared to do this because of the whole crew and oreos and geeky and cute stuff there but this book still lived up to the author’s debut! It’s like the best friend that understands and will feed you cookie-dough to heal all your unrequited feelings.

For someone who’s always on the look-out for one of her crushes, I could totally relate with Molly because she has like 26+ crushes and not even one of them likes her back or so she assumes.

Molly feels like everyone’s growing up and exploring new things except for her. Her twin, Cassie, found this amazing girl and is discovering the depths of being in love leaving Molly on this endless cycle of crushing hard on someone and not being liked back. Here’s the thing, Molly isn’t the most confident girl on block, she doesn’t put herself out there in fear of being rejected. She’s fat but this is not a story of her learning to love her body, because she already does—this is a story of growing up and that oh-so sweet joy of first love.

The characters here are very diverse and representations are well-done. Every character has their own quirk and a personality that made them shine. As usual, I loved the dialogues here, the conversations flowed flawlessly. It was fun to read and felt very realistic. Like I said, the feels that this book gave were SO REAL, I could really see the events happening in real life!

I loved that it explored the sisterly love between Molly and Cassie, they’re twins and they had each other’s back since birth but life happens. Growing up it’s inevitable to not feel like you’re drifting away from your closest friends and even your own sister, you still love them but you might have different priorities now. I love how it sends a message that people might come and go but your sister will always be your sister even if she’s not your favorite person anymore.

The family dynamics is also a delight, both Moms were very present in the story. The support of Molly’s two Moms to her and Cassie was one of the best I’ve read in YA. They were very open to one other, there were a lot of awww-family moments as well as some family drama! I just adore books with great family aspects.

Going back to Molly, her character development deserves all the thumbs-up emoji in the world! She knew herself and limits very well, and the way she put herself and heart out there and found that it wasn’t so bad to let loose from time to time was again, written realistically. She’s just overall, a #RELATABLE heroine! Oh, she likes DIYs and crafts and Pinterest stuffs too! I love that one scene where one of their friends has a problem and they listened to her while making some paper/magazine beads, #crafty indeed.

I sometimes feel like everyone is having these amazing high school experiences except me, like I’m missing out on something. Well this book reminded me that growing up is hard, and there are times when we’ll feel insecure and unsure of ourselves. But there’s no specific time on when we’ll experience certain things, we move on our own phase! We may feel like there’s a million things we haven’t done but don’t worry, we’ll get there! Just you wait. That being said, I think this book sends a powerful message to all young adults out there, and I really wish that that it’ll reach and empower more lives.

So finally, for the romance which I won’t spoil because there’s like two guys here. I know what you’re thinking, she never had a boyfriend and has like 26+ crushes and now two boys are pinning for her? Well, the story isn’t like that at all! JUST READ TO FIND OUT, but I promise you that the romance is fast-paced but insta-love did not happen.

I’ll just describe the two prospects, first is this cool hipster dude, Will. He’s really charming and funny, plus Cassie’s girlfriend is his bestfriend so it would be perfect if Molly dated him. On the other hand, Reid is the co-worker with immaculate white sneakers. I swear, I spent a good amount of time wondering how on earth does he manage to keep his white sneakers super clean while also wearing them everyday??? Anyways, he’s in love with Chocolate Mini Eggs and wears nerdy t-shirts. It’s really not that hard to guess who’s it going to be, and Molly clearly have her eyes on…

So there goes my review for The Upside of Unrequited, if it isn’t clear that I enjoyed reading this well, surprise I did! And I absolutely recommend this to anyone who had unrequited feelings for someone a.k.a every single one of us. (I’m definitely assuming here!) Becky Albertalli did it again, and yes there’s a cameo of Simon and his friends in some scenes so if you loved that book I’m sure you’ll enjoy this too!

Thank you so much Netgalley and the publisher for giving me an eARC of this book.


That’s all, thank you so much for reading. If you want to read more book reviews from this blog, just click here. And you could also find my reviews in Goodreads.

12 thoughts on “Review: The Upside of Unrequited

  1. I read the first 2 chapters of this the other day as a sneak preview and I definitely want to read the rest! And now that I’ve read this, I’m putting it much higher on my list! And I kind of adore the Hamilton quote you threw in there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I actually finished reading this a few days ago and it was such a cute and enjoyable read! I loved how relatable it was and how realistic Molly was from her Pinterest obsession to love for cookie dough and her awesome friendships! I also loved the side characters and overall how awesome this book was!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

