Blog Tour Review: Better At Weddings Than You

BAWTY.png

Better At Weddings Than YouBetter At Weddings Than You by Mina V. Esguerra

Amazon | CreateSpace | Barnes & Noble | Print (Philippines)

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Daphne Cardenas is the best wedding planner around, and everyone knows it. That’s why her friend Greg hired her as an emergency replacement one month before his wedding—because he fears his fiancée Helen is falling for the guy they first hired for the job.

Aaron Trinidad is new to the wedding industry but years of conference planning and loads of charm make him good at it. Really good at it. Planning the wedding of his friend Helen should be easy, and it is. To be unceremoniously fired isn’t good for his new career, but the chance to learn from the best might be the silver lining.

Aaron and Daphne have chemistry, but there’s history with Helen that at least one other person considers a threat. Who’s the planner who can fix this impending disaster?

(Part of the Chic Manila series, but can be read as a standalone.)

my-review

Yes, this isn’t a Young Adult book and it’s a bit out of my comfort zone but since I really enjoyed reading my first #romanceclass novel which is Keep The Faith by Ana Tejano (click here for my review) I signed-up for this tour. And surprisingly, I enjoyed reading this as well.

Daphne is the ultimate girl boss that I aspire to be in the future. Her personality screams “strong and independent woman”. I love how established she is in being a wedding planner and seeing her work in that field gave me a glimpse on how the wedding “industry” really work.

Aaron is more of a laid-back character, he’s new in this world of wedding planning. And while Daphne is killing it with her impressive spreadsheets, Aaron has his own weapon of choice—a scrapbook which carries all the files for the wedding.

I love the dynamic between the two, the chemistry was definitely there. And the flow of the romance was well-paced and beautifully executed. The way their relationship was built through work and then more. How they were able to switch from playful banter to serious talks about work and life was endearing.

To be honest, I was afraid to I would not connect with the characters because I’m just a muggle in her late-teens and these were professionals in their early thirties. But I found myself somewhat “connecting” and understanding the struggles of the characters. I found myself wondering about my future, and if I’ll be more like Daphne or Aaron. And honestly, I love reading how adults can struggle like teenagers too. They struggle, but better.

Besides the romance, I loved how the book discussed about the double standards on dating. Men can rock that bachelor status as long as they want while Ladies are somewhat expected to be married and settled on their thirties. Which is absolutely just some BS, and I just hope that this norm would be trashed ASAP so that the titas or aunts or basically all the nosy relatives would stop asking the single lady family member on when she’s going to get married. (I don’t know if this is like a cultural thing, maybe it is, but I’ve seen this scene so many times! My older cousins are always put on the spot by our Aunts telling them that they might die single if they don’t hurry. Like seriously, was wrong with dying single?)

Another thing, like I mentioned earlier, they’re both wedding planners so I had the backstage view of what goes in a wedding. And I personally like weddings, I mean I like the idea and appreciate them whenever I get to attend one. This book has a lot to offer, it showed how a one day ceremony can be so stressful and hectic to plan. From the reception, food/catering, videographer, etc. it can be crazy! Well, not for Daphne. #girlboss

Lastly, I adored the writing style. This is written in a third person’s point of view but it was in way that the narrative differs between Aaron and Daphne’s thoughts. The readers got to see both sides of the story and I think that adds to the development of the characters.

Better At Weddings Than You is a great quick read with an engaging plot, and it will make you think—when really is the right age to meet someone you could totally like?


BAWTY - About.png

A huge thank you to the author for giving me the chance to read and review her book, and also for including me in this blog tour.

If you want to check out the other reviews/posts that are part of the tour just click here.

 

 

About the Author:

Mina V. Esguerra - author photo

Mina V. Esguerra writes contemporary roamance, young adult, and new adult novellas. Through her blog Publishing in Pajamas (minavesguerra.com), she documents her experiments in publishing.

When not writing romance, she is president of communications firm Bronze Age Media, development communication consultant, indie publisher, professional editor, wife, and mother. She created the workshop series “Author at Once” for writers and publishers, and #romanceclass for aspiring romance writers.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Amazon


That’s all, thank you so much for reading. If you want to read more book reviews from this blog, just click here. And you could also find my reviews in Goodreads.

One thought on “Blog Tour Review: Better At Weddings Than You

  1. Pingback: Wrapping up April 2017 (and why you should expect more blog inactivity) – That Bookshelf Bitch

Leave a Reply

