Review: The Auctor Trilogy

TAT.png

The Auctor TrilogyThe Auctor Trilogy by T.R. Wolf

My Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

When seventeen-year-old Addie Auctor’s mother is murdered by her father, she must confront many secrets that her family has hidden from her. The worst of these secrets is that Addie’s father, Donovan Hawthorne, is still hunting Addie because of an ancient blood feud between her mother’s family, the Auctors, and her father’s family, the House of Hawthorne. In order to be protected from the House of Hawthorne, Addie and her brother, Augustus, are sent to Initiation at an exclusive University, the Wicked Cabal.

Initiation is nothing like Addie expects. She is immediately separated from Augustus and thrown in with four complete strangers – Fallon, Maddox, Liam, and Tempe. Addie must try to forge friendships with her fellow Initiates while they solve clues, battle mystical creatures, and explore increasingly dangerous places.

Readers of all ages will love this adventure filled with suspense, treachery, and romance.

my-review

When the author contacted me to review this book, I was ecstatic! Finally, a fantasy book that is up my alley. Nonetheless, I had no expectations going into this book and I didn’t even know what was it about so I was really surprised on how much I enjoyed reading it.

The story starts of with Addie being exposed with surprising secrets about her and her family. A minute ago she was just having her daily run as an ordinary teenager but now, her mother is dead and she finds herself walking along the secret passage on their basement.

I love how fast-paced this book is, and right from the start it got me hooked with the thrilling mystery of Addie’s family. Apparently, this family holds a lot of secrets and I’ll keep most of them as secrets because you know, spoilers, but here’s something that I didn’t expect—they’re sorcerers.

That’s not the only thing I didn’t see coming from this book, but I’m not going to elaborate the plot. All I can say is that the book pretty much revolves around the Initiation, which was both good and meh. Good because I seriously loved reading about this adventure, it had that Hunger Games vibe into it and every twist was just unexpected. Meh because it left A LOT of unanswered questions, I wanted to know more about the Auctor Trilogy but I guess we’ll just have to wait for the next book then.

As for the characters, Addie is really a strong lead. It wasn’t hard to connect and care for her, especially knowing her struggles and how she was just thrown into this initiation with very little knowledge about it. I love the relationship between her and her brother, Augustus, I don’t know but I have a soft spot for protective brothers.

The whole dynamics between the Addie’s group is very interesting to read combined with all the challenges given to them. The whole crew was really diverse, personality-wise, and I liked how the different relationships were portrayed. As for the romance, it was okay-ish for me but it still works though.

It’s a fast-paced story that made me turn page after page because I wanted to know what will happen next. For the writing style, it was good but there were times when I felt that it was too descriptive. Some details and phrases could have been skipped and the story would still work.

With all that being said, The Auctor Trilogy is definitely worth reading. Fast-paced fantasy with some adventure plus great and endearing characters. This left me hanging and wanting for more and basically screaming because I NEED ANSWERS. I’m really excited to what the author has in store for the next installment. 

A huge thank you to the author for sending me a Review Copy of this book.


That’s all, thank you so much for reading. If you want to read more book reviews from this blog, just click here. And you could also find my reviews in Goodreads.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Auctor Trilogy

Leave a Reply

