Blog Tour Review: Batman: Nightwalker


Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons, #2)Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons, #2) by Marie Lu

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Before he was Batman, he was Bruce Wayne. A reckless boy willing to break the rules for a girl who may be his worst enemy.

The Nightwalkers are terrorizing Gotham City, and Bruce Wayne is next on their list.

One by one, the city’s elites are being executed as their mansions’ security systems turn against them, trapping them like prey. Meanwhile, Bruce is turning eighteen and about to inherit his family’s fortune, not to mention the keys to Wayne Enterprises and all the tech gadgetry his heart could ever desire. But after a run-in with the police, he’s forced to do community service at Arkham Asylum, the infamous prison that holds the city’s most brutal criminals.

Madeleine Wallace is a brilliant killer . . . and Bruce’s only hope.

In Arkham, Bruce meets Madeleine, a brilliant girl with ties to the Nightwalkers. What is she hiding? And why will she speak only to Bruce? Madeleine is the mystery Bruce must unravel. But is he getting her to divulge her secrets, or is he feeding her the information she needs to bring Gotham City to its knees? Bruce will walk the dark line between trust and betrayal as the Nightwalkers circle closer.


First, I just want to put it out there that I am in no way, shape, or form a Batman or any DC or even Marvel superhero fan. Yes, I usually stray away from the depths of the superhero world. So expect that this review will come from someone who has not seen/read a single movie/comic about Batman.

Two kinds of people come out of personal tragedy… You’re the kind that comes out brighter.

Continue reading

Mini Reviews: Illuminae and Gemina


Hey there! 🚀

I decided to do my reviews for the two books in the Illuminae Files. I know, I’m so late on boarding this spaceship! Now I get what the hype is all about because THESE BOOKS ARE SERIOUSLY OUT OF THIS WORLD. They were so, so good and I can’t wait for the last book in trilogy which is Obsidio, which will be published on March 2018. I don’t even know how I’ll be able to wait that long.

Anyway, here’s my reviews or basically my feels about Illuminae and Gemina:

Continue reading

Review: Warcross


Warcross (Warcross, #1)Warcross by Marie Lu

My Rating: ★★★★★ (5/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn’t just a game—it’s a way of life. The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base now spans the globe, some eager to escape from reality and others hoping to make a profit. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down players who bet on the game illegally. But the bounty hunting world is a competitive one, and survival has not been easy. Needing to make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships—only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation.

Convinced she’s going to be arrested, Emika is shocked when instead she gets a call from the game’s creator, the elusive young billionaire Hideo Tanaka, with an irresistible offer. He needs a spy on the inside of this year’s tournament in order to uncover a security problem…and he wants Emika for the job. With no time to lose, Emika’s whisked off to Tokyo and thrust into a world of fame and fortune that she’s only dreamed of. But soon her investigation uncovers a sinister plot, with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire.


I just found my new favorite book. Hands down Warcross is one of the best books of 2017, don’t even hesitate to grab this ASAP because it’S SO AMAZINGGGGGggg.

Continue reading

Review: Genuine Fraud


Genuine FraudGenuine Fraud by E. Lockhart

My Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts are her ticket into a charmed life. But how many times can someone reinvent themselves? You be the judge.

Imogen is a runaway heiress, an orphan, a cook, and a cheat.
Jule is a fighter, a social chameleon, and an athlete.
An intense friendship. A disappearance. A murder, or maybe two.
A bad romance, or maybe three.
Blunt objects, disguises, blood, and chocolate. The American dream, superheroes, spies, and villains.
A girl who refuses to give people what they want from her.
A girl who refuses to be the person she once was.


I was genuinely optimistic about reading this book despite not loving We Were Liars. I kinda have a love-hate relationship with the author’s writing style so I was determined to give this a try, and I can say that Genuine Fraud left me shookt.

Continue reading

#TurtlesAlltheWayCountDown Read-along 🐢 + GIVEAWAYS


John Green has a special place in my heart, his books are some of the first ones I read that got me to reading Young Adult. So of course, I’m highly anticipating his new book Turtles All the Way Down which comes out in October. Yup, we’ll have to wait until October to read it!! But no worries because you can join me and other book lovers with the #TurtlesAlltheWayCountDown 🐢 Read-along or Reread-along! (if you already read the books)

Continue reading

All the Updates #3: The Genie Has Returned!


Hey there ✨

YES I’M BACK!! After almost 3 months of inactivity, you’re finally reading an update from this genie! 🧞‍♀️ It honestly feels weird doing this again, I feel kind of rusty so sorry in advance if this post will be all over the place.

I’m here bringing you all the updates in my life—well, not really all the updates but just the necessary ones lol you get it—including the whats and whys of my absence from the last months.

Continue reading

Review: Just Friends


Just FriendsJust Friends by Tiffany Pitcock

My Rating: ★★☆☆☆ (2/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A new spin on the classic smart-girl-and-bad-boy setup, this witty contemporary romance shows how easily a friendship – even one built on an elaborate lie – can become so much more.

Jenny meets Chance for the very first time when she is assigned as his partner in their Junior Oral Communications class. But after they rescue a doomed assignment with one clever lie, the whole school is suddenly convinced that Little-Miss-Really-Likes-Having-A’s and the most scandalous heartbreaker in school have been best friends forever. It’s amazing how quickly a lie can grow―especially when you really, really want it to be the truth.

With Jenny, Chance can live the normal life he’s always kind of wanted. And with Chance, Jenny can have the exciting teen experiences that TV shows and movies have always promised. Through it all, they hold on to the fact that they are “just friends.” But that might be the biggest lie of all.

Debut author Tiffany Pitcock delivers a spot-on depiction of first love and the high school rumor mill in Just Friends, chosen by readers like you for Macmillan’s young adult imprint Swoon Reads.


What started out as a promising contemporary left me annoyed and frustrated because despite really trying to love it, I just couldn’t. Just Friends is a huge miss for me for a few reasons, read on to find out.

Continue reading

Review: Surface Tension


Surface TensionSurface Tension by Sarah Gray

My Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Surface Tension is a unique collection of six dark tales, which delves deep into the undercurrents of human psychology. Ghosts, heavenly creatures and magic-beings find fantastical ways to deliver messages of warning or redemption. From a widow longing to be reunited with her husband, to a mother trapped by guilt these stories reveal how life’s tragic events can change our perception and lead to unexpected consequences. The results are delightful stories that charm, intrigue and scare in equal measure.

After a fire in her house Coral is puzzled by the appearance of a mysterious light switch. Flicking the switch unleashes a supernatural force threatening her with the secrets of her family’s twisted past.

Anna has the lifestyle she’s always wanted until a violent attack robs her of everything. She’s left afraid and alone until courage is return to her by a visit from a strangely familiar child.

Embittered by his past regrets George is waiting to die. He rejects everyone, including his loyal daughter, Emily. His care-worker, and guardian angel, Gabriel attempts to persuade him to forgive, before he loses his last opportunity to live.

Vanessa has lost everything including her daughter Cherry. Without the love of her beloved mother she’s stuck and doesn’t know how to move on with her life.

Lonely Sirena risks everything when she makes her boss a declaration of love. Humiliation is guaranteed until she has an unusual encounter with a misplaced sea creature.

When Esther’s abusive dead husband returns to haunt her, she has to stop him taking over her life and dragging her into the grave.


As you can probably tell this book is different from the usual ones I read and review. This book is a collection of short stories wherein each narrative is both intriguing and haunting. Definitely a collection worth reading in between full length books.

Continue reading

Review: Eliza and Her Monsters


Eliza and Her MonstersEliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community, and has no desire to try.

Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea‘s biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

With illustrations from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums and snippets of Wallace’s fanfiction, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.


I’ll read whatever book this author writes because I adored Made You Up so much, so I was very excited when I got a copy of this one. Basically, my expectations were high because I love the author plus the premise of this sounds nerdy and wonderful. I’m ecstatic to say that Eliza and Her Monsters did not disappoint but delivered so much more!

Continue reading

All the Updates #2: Books, Blog, Life


Hey there ✨

I don’t think anyone noticed but I’ve actually been inactive here last month. So I decided to share to you guys what I have been up to by giving all the updates. The last time I did this was way back December last year and now it’s already halfway through 2017. I don’t even know how we got here so fast.

Anyways, let’s start with my reading update where I’ll tell you about how I barely got to read anything in the month of May.

Continue reading