Year Ender Post: Top Books for 2016 & Goals for 2017

Heyheyhey there! ✨

Before the year ends I just wanted to squeeze in one more post, so here it is! Truly, 2016 was such a wonderful reading year for me—I read a lot of books, finished my Goodreads Reading Challenge (71/60 books read) and added a lot to my Favorite’s shelf!

And of course I wanted to share to all of you my top 16-ish books for 2016 as well as my reading + blogging goals for 2017.

Continue reading

Review: You Know Me Well

YKMW.png

You Know Me WellYou Know Me Well by Nina LaCourDavid Levithan

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

You Know Me Well is a tender and joyful young-adult novel tracing the powerful friendship of two lovesick teenagers—a gay boy, Mark, and a lesbian girl, Katie—over the course of Pride Week in San Francisco.

Told in alternating chapters, You Know Me Well explores how Mark and Katie help one another overcome heartbreak, fractured friendships and the dizzying speeds of change.

my-review

I was really excited for this book, it was one of my most anticipated releases last June and thank heavens because it definitely exceeded my expectations.

The thing about possibilities: There are some you want much more than others. Or only one you want much more than everything else.

 

Continue reading

August Wrap-up [2016] + TBR

AUG 2016.png

Hey there!

I’m here to do a very late Wrap-up for the month of August (obviously) and I just realized that my last Wrap-up was back in May, which just shows how I’m a really bad blogger. But anyways, August had been really good to me because I managed to read a few books this month!

So yay for that, and enough of my blabbering… here’s my August Wrap-up!

Continue reading

Review: Defending Taylor

DT.png

Defending TaylorDefending Taylor by Miranda Kenneally

My Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

There are no mistakes in love.

Captain of the soccer team, president of the Debate Club, contender for valedictorian: Taylor’s always pushed herself to be perfect. After all, that’s what is expected of a senator’s daughter. But one impulsive decision-one lie to cover for her boyfriend-and Taylor’s kicked out of private school. Everything she’s worked so hard for is gone, and now she’s starting over at Hundred Oaks High.

Soccer has always been Taylor’s escape from the pressures of school and family, but it’s hard to fit in and play on a team that used to be her rival. The only person who seems to understand all that she’s going through is her older brother’s best friend, Ezra. Taylor’s had a crush on him for as long as she can remember. But it’s hard to trust after having been betrayed. Will Taylor repeat her past mistakes or can she score a fresh start?

my-review

I shut my eyes. All my hard work. Years and years of pushing myself. All down the drain, because people never notice good news. They flock to the bad.

I went into this book without knowing or having any background about it, I requested this from Netgalley without even looking at its Goodreads’ page. And of course I was really surprised when I found out that this book is part of a series called Hundred Oaks, nevertheless all the books from the series are safe to read as a stand-alone so there was really no harm done.

Continue reading

Genie Shares: Reading Slump + School = Inactive Louise

SLUMP

Genie Shares is a Saturday feature in geniereads, where in Louise (weekly) shares a personal book-related story.

Hello there beautiful bloggers!

cartoons & comics adventure time xd ice king

It has been so long since my last Genie Shares posts, well honestly it has also been so long since the last time I opened up WordPress. Anyways, today I don’t have any interesting book-related story to share but, I’ll be sharing some excuses, I mean reasons why I have been so inactive lately.

So this post is mostly a what-have-I-been-doing-or-reading or an overall life update because if you guys noticed, I’ve been MIA (Missing In Action) since I think June and I know you all been missing me!

adventure time eyebrows ice king

(Just kidding, I know no one misses me because you all are busy reading and blogging and going on with your lives!) Continue reading

I Know What You Read Last Summer

summer.png

Hi there…

First of all, I just want to say that I want to say Sorry for not being active on my blog for the last couple weeks, I’m still adjusting with school and I’ve always sucked at managing my time and being organized. I admit that I ignored my blog, especially last week and now I feel bad about it. I feel like a bad parent for it. And OMG guys, I MISSED YOU ALL SO MUCH. I missed interacting with all of you and writing up blog posts and comments, hope I could catch up on everything!

Anyway, enough of that because this post is really all about the books that I read last summer, it’s like a summer wrap-up. And because I know most of you are still on your summer vacation, I’ll be recommending some Summer Reads for all of you.

giphy (23) Continue reading

Review: The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You

towttmiy.png

The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is YouThe Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You by Lily Anderson

My Rating: ★★★★★ (5/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Trixie Watson has two very important goals for senior year: to finally save enough to buy the set of Doctor Who figurines at the local comic books store, and to place third in her class and knock Ben West–and his horrendous new mustache that he spent all summer growing–down to number four.

Trixie will do anything to get her name ranked over Ben’s, including give up sleep and comic books–well, maybe not comic books–but definitely sleep. After all, the war of Watson v. West is as vicious as the Doctor v. Daleks and Browncoats v. Alliance combined, and it goes all the way back to the infamous monkey bars incident in the first grade. Over a decade later, it’s time to declare a champion once and for all.

The war is Trixie’s for the winning, until her best friend starts dating Ben’s best friend and the two are unceremoniously dumped together and told to play nice. Finding common ground is odious and tooth-pullingly-painful, but Trixie and Ben’s cautious truce slowly transforms into a fandom-based tentative friendship. When Trixie’s best friend gets expelled for cheating and Trixie cries foul play, however, they have to choose who to believe and which side they’re on–and they might not pick the same side.

my-review

From what I could tell about relationships and love and all that noise, it needed to be more than just mathematically reasonable.

First of all, that synopsis from Goodreads gave too much details. I think it already sold it at the second paragraph, so the last one could have been left behind because it tells a bit too much. Second, I don’t read comic books and watch Doctor Who, ALL THOSE REFERENCES MADE ME FEEL INADEQUATE for this book. And third, GOSH THIS BOOK IS EVERYTHING, I LOVE IT TOO MUCH. Continue reading

Blogger Recognition Award + I Survived My First Month!

ZSDFGH.png

Hello friends, it’s nice to see you again! (Look Mom, I’m so polite)

reactions excited adventure time hi yay

So one month ago, I posted my very first post here on my blog and wow… a big YAY for me because I survived my first month. I actually thought that I won’t make it this far because I have a bad history with commitments. Anyways, I am honored to do this post today which is The Blogger Recognition Award.

Continue reading

Review: Shuffle, Repeat

SR.png

Shuffle, RepeatShuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.
 
June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.

Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.

Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it.

my-review

“Another song for our playlist. When will you ever learn?”

Apparently the answer is “never,” because here we are again: me falling hopelessly; him unaware and unattainable.

I was reading another book that was so intense and heavy, so I wanted to balance it out with something light. (I don’t really read two books at a time but I figured that I need to at least try at some point.) So I decided to start reading this expecting some light and fluffy contemporary. And yes it slayed all my expectations because this book is a great example of a close-to-perfect light contemporary.

High School, Senior Year— this is what this book is all about, so if you’re not into that High School stories/drama maybe this book isn’t for you. Continue reading

May Wrap-up [2016]

MAY 2016.png

Hey there!

So May is officially over, and it hurts. I know most of you guys are happy because it’ll be summer there soon but for me June marks the resume of classes. *quietly sobs*

But we are not here for that sad news, WE ARE HERE TO LOOK BACK ON THE AWESOME MONTH OF MAY! Seriously May was an amazing bookish month for me because (1) I read a handful of books, (2) I started this blog, and (3) I discovered this wonderful community!

Okay now, let’s look back on all the book reviews and other bookish stuff that I posted last month. Continue reading