Blog Tour Review: Batman: Nightwalker

batman1.png

Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons, #2)Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons, #2) by Marie Lu

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Before he was Batman, he was Bruce Wayne. A reckless boy willing to break the rules for a girl who may be his worst enemy.

The Nightwalkers are terrorizing Gotham City, and Bruce Wayne is next on their list.

One by one, the city’s elites are being executed as their mansions’ security systems turn against them, trapping them like prey. Meanwhile, Bruce is turning eighteen and about to inherit his family’s fortune, not to mention the keys to Wayne Enterprises and all the tech gadgetry his heart could ever desire. But after a run-in with the police, he’s forced to do community service at Arkham Asylum, the infamous prison that holds the city’s most brutal criminals.

Madeleine Wallace is a brilliant killer . . . and Bruce’s only hope.

In Arkham, Bruce meets Madeleine, a brilliant girl with ties to the Nightwalkers. What is she hiding? And why will she speak only to Bruce? Madeleine is the mystery Bruce must unravel. But is he getting her to divulge her secrets, or is he feeding her the information she needs to bring Gotham City to its knees? Bruce will walk the dark line between trust and betrayal as the Nightwalkers circle closer.

BATMAN2.png

First, I just want to put it out there that I am in no way, shape, or form a Batman or any DC or even Marvel superhero fan. Yes, I usually stray away from the depths of the superhero world. So expect that this review will come from someone who has not seen/read a single movie/comic about Batman.

Two kinds of people come out of personal tragedy… You’re the kind that comes out brighter.

Continue reading

Blog Tour Review: Girl on the Verge [+GIVEAWAY]

GOTV.png

Girl on the VergeGirl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn

Amazon | Barnes & Noble Kobo | iBooks

My Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.

In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.

When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

my-review

I signed-up for this book tour simply because it’s an #ownvoices and I thought that it’ll be a nice contemporary to read. Well I was wrong because this is actually a thriller so it had this creepy vibe all throughout that had me…on the verge.

Continue reading

Blog Tour Review: Better At Weddings Than You

BAWTY.png

Better At Weddings Than YouBetter At Weddings Than You by Mina V. Esguerra

Amazon | CreateSpace | Barnes & Noble | Print (Philippines)

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Daphne Cardenas is the best wedding planner around, and everyone knows it. That’s why her friend Greg hired her as an emergency replacement one month before his wedding—because he fears his fiancée Helen is falling for the guy they first hired for the job.

Aaron Trinidad is new to the wedding industry but years of conference planning and loads of charm make him good at it. Really good at it. Planning the wedding of his friend Helen should be easy, and it is. To be unceremoniously fired isn’t good for his new career, but the chance to learn from the best might be the silver lining.

Aaron and Daphne have chemistry, but there’s history with Helen that at least one other person considers a threat. Who’s the planner who can fix this impending disaster?

(Part of the Chic Manila series, but can be read as a standalone.)

my-review

Yes, this isn’t a Young Adult book and it’s a bit out of my comfort zone but since I really enjoyed reading my first #romanceclass novel which is Keep The Faith by Ana Tejano (click here for my review) I signed-up for this tour. And surprisingly, I enjoyed reading this as well.

Continue reading

Blog Tour Review: Pillow Thoughts

PT.png

Pillow ThoughtsPillow Thoughts by Courtney Peppernell

Amazon / Book Depository / Barnes & Noble

My Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Pillow Thoughts is a collection of poetry and prose about heartbreak, love and raw emotions.

It is divided into sections to read when you feel you need them most.

Make a cup of tea and let yourself feel.

my-review

I like to read and write poetry from time to time, but I never reviewed a poetry book/collection before so this is definitely a first for me and I don’t know what I’m doing and just deal with my ramblings and I’m so sorry if it won’t be coherent enough.

Anyways, this book initially had me singing and thinking about Zayn whenever I read its title and just like with Pillow Talk—I’m seeing the pain, I’m seeing the pleasure while reading this.

Continue reading

Review: Found

FOUND.png

Found: Letters on Life, Love, and GodFound: Letters on Life, Love, and God by Isa Garcia, Crae Achacoso (Illustrator)

Buy here / Amazon / Google Play Books

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Isa Garcia believes that everybody deserves love letters. She wrote these letters in Found for you: the girl who has been feeling a bit lost; the girl who likes to run from pain; the girl who is ready to go; the girl who is a lot of things at one time or another. Isa knows that there are days when you would need to be reminded that you matter, you are not alone, and the world is a far better place with you in it.

In this book, may you find a friend who takes you as you are, a safe space for your secret hopes and fears, and the assurance that no matter where you are in your life right now, you will always be found.

my-review

There are days when you will grasp at straws for something that seems close to what is true. There are days when your voice will shake with the weight of uncertainty. There are days when you will feel like you aren’t enough. And there are days when the small cure to sadness will be the simple marriage of love and words. This book exists for those days. This book exists for you.

I’m so happy that I found this book, even though I don’t usually review these kind of books I’m thankful that I signed-up and was included in its blog tour. This book is a collection of letters about love, God, and life.

Continue reading

Blog Tour Review: #famous [+GIVEAWAY]

f

#famous#famous by Jilly Gagnon

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

In this modern-day love story, Girl likes Boy, Girl takes photo of Boy and posts it online, Boy becomes accidentally insta-famous. And what starts out as an innocent joke spirals into a whirlwind adventure that could change both their lives—and their hearts—forever. But are fame and love worth the price?

Told in alternating points of view, #famous captures the out-of-control thrill ride of falling for someone in front of everyone.

my-review

A quick and funny read about a social media post gone viral that lead to insta-fame and the people behind them. This book got me hooked from the first page to the last, and it deals with themes that are #trendy, #timely and #relevant. Told in alternating chapters of the two main characters, #famous is a feel good and fluffy contemporary read.

Continue reading